Unroot/Back to Stock (2.2) Without .sbf or RSD Lite - Droid 1 Only

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by jntdroid, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
  2. bosshoss_16
    Offline

    bosshoss_16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great job. Worked perfectly. I can now sell this without worrying! Thanks!
  3. cleave
    Offline

    cleave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    Ratings:
    +3
    ~

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    glad to hear it! ;)
  5. Taco
    Offline

    Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    After I flash the master ota and reboot you say to reactivate my phone. Do you mean just enter my google account? Or do I have to do something else?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Touch the android to begin...

    Droid. The first Droid. The best Droid. My Droid. And boy do I hate stock.
  7. Taco
    Offline

    Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I figured but idk how to reactivate my phone on the network so I didn't want to flash away before I knew what would happen.

    Thanks!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    You touch the android and go through the wizard.

    Droid. The first Droid. The best Droid. My Droid. And boy do I hate stock.
  9. Taco
    Offline

    Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya I know that thanks ... I read somewhere else that a *228 was required ... guess not :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  10. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    To be purely OCD technical, activating your phone and signing back into your google account should be considered and referred to as two very distinct things.

    What furman described (touching the Android) is signing back into your google account.

    What Taco is describing (dialing *228) is re-activating the phone, which this guide in post #2 says may need to happen if:


  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    what they said!

    :icon_ banana:
  12. skeezicks
    Offline

    skeezicks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. Quick question. I rooted my Droid 1, currently running stock 2.2.1, FRG83D. Somewhere along the line I got fed up with having Quickoffice, so I deleted it using the Titanium Backup program. Along comes a new OTA, FRG83G, and I'd like to install it, but naturally that won't work, since I'm rooted.

    So I unrooted, using SuperOneClick (same way I rooted), received the OTA again, but it wouldn't take. Presumably, that's because I removed Quickoffice, and now the checksum isn't correct.

    If I unroot and flash the stock FRG22D update.zip, will I get Quickoffice back so I can update to FRG83G through the OTA (or otherwise)? I'd like to do that, if only to stop those annoying OTA reminders.

    Yes, I've tried Googling my way to an already written answer, but obviously I haven't been successful. Thanks in advance for any input!
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  13. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    I don't know if you'll get QuickOffice back, but if you follow these steps and start by going back to FRG22D, it should all work.

    Actually, I guess QuickOffice does typically come with the stock /system... so probably so!
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why wouldn't the update install?

    Droid. The first Droid. The best Droid. My Droid. And boy do I hate stock.
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sometimes the updates will not install if there are some of the 'stock' apps missing. We had that problem WAY back in the early days, and that is why it was suggested to rename the .apk to .bak instead of just removing them. That way if a failure happened, renaming bak to .apk allowed the update to install.
Search tags for this page
flashing sprecovery sbf to stock 2.2
,

frg22d.sbf

,
how to combine two .zip files with rsd lite
,

motorola droid 1 stock sbf

,
recovery.sbf para motorola a855 2.2.2
,
rsd motorola frg22d.sbf download
,
sfb droid 1 without rsd
,
unroot 2.2 droid
,

unroot back to stock 2.2

,
unroot verizon droid 1