Unlocking from Verizon

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by seventieslord, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. seventieslord

    seventieslord Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So we aren't even 100% sure that this phone can work on a different gsm network?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  2. Byakushiki

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Seems like a ton of people think the Bionic, RAZR, and D4 are global as in GSM capable. I'm pretty dead certain they are not. Anyone here with them, enter *#*#4636#*#*, go to phone info, and tell us what you see under preferred network type. I'm 98% certain any CDMA only phone will only display CDMA/LTE auto, CDMA only, EvDo only, and LTE only. No mention of GSM auto, WCDMA only, and GSM/CDMA auto. Funny enough, I do have an "Unknown" option though.
     
  3. ikari

    ikari New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    All information on the web points out that it WILL BE a global, GSM-ready phone. It is said to have GSM-capable radio. You can't do "global roaming software-only", since it wouldn't have a physical way to connect to any provider that would do the roaming.

    For now, it gives me "The SIM card is from an unknown source" and "no SIM" and "no service", having a GSM microSIM card (hey, @ScottyDsntKnow, you are therefore wrong to think that GSMs cannot be microSIM).
    Doing *#*#4636#*#* does not work on Droid4 for me, the code just disappears right after the last asterisk and nothing happens.
     
  4. nerflirui

    nerflirui New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a XT912 with the same problem. I'm tired of the $80 smartphone plan and wanna switch to my old good T-mobile prepaid, but failed. Did you get this problem sorted out? If you did, I'll really appeciate it if you can tell me how.
     
  5. The_Red_Baron

    The_Red_Baron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it working with Bell Mobility

    Just make sure the phone is upgrade to latest ICS, it automatically unlock it. I have mine XT894 working with Bell Mobility. Everytime you power it off and back on. It will said unknown SIM. But it accepted it and works after that.

    Not sure you can get the ICS update OTA in Canada or no. I just made sure the guy sold it to me upgrade it to ICS before he ship it to me.

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you outside the US?
    If yes, you can try and call Verizon Global and just ask them for an unlock code.
    See this thread: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=235535

    But no other carrier's SIM will work on a Verizon phone in the US.

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk HD
     
Search tags for this page
droid bionic sim card from unknown source
,
htc rezound this sim card is from an unknown source
,
phone activation this sim card is from an unknown source
,
sim card from unknown source
,
sim card is from an unknown source
,
sim from unknown source
,
the sim card is from an unknown source
,

this sim card is from an unknown source

,
this sim card is from an unknown source fix
,
this sim card is from an unknown source verizon