unlocked Galaxy SII on AT&T

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dezymond, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,792
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    So I'm trying to help my cousin and I just need some confirmation and possibly any word of experience in doing this. My cousin wants to get a Galaxy SII, but not the SkyRocket or whatever it is on AT&T, he wants an unlocked euro version. So I have 2 questions...

    1. It's as simple as just him putting in his SIM card in it, right? I've seen on reviews at phonedog that Aaron just put his SIM card in, entered info, and the phone (Nexus and the Note) worked.
    2. Anyone know where to get new unlocked phones? Want to avoid ebay and used phones.

    I'm just not 100% sure it'll work. Want to confirm before he goes out trying to find one. For the record, he's ditching his iPhone for it, so one more user for Android:hail:

    Thanks!
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,792
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    We all Verizon huh? Lol

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  3. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Was with T-Mobile for awhile, so similar concept...

    If it's the pure global GSII, that comes unlocked, I'm 99% sure he can just stick the SIM in and go. Might have to call AT&T, but I don't see why it wouldn't just work out of the box.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,792
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Gotcha.

    Haven't had much time to research it myself, but posts and info from about 2008-2011 just said stick in the SIM and it should work. Just want confirmation. I figured it was like that, but just wanted to make sure. Thanks!
Search tags for this page

bring unlocked tmobile galaxy to att