Unlocked bootloader?

alienware777

Reaction score
Whoa... that's crazy. I hope they don't decide to change it for new phones, but ofc they will :(

Alos, rhat means that on phones where custom roms couldn't really be flashed, now they can.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

bookie

Reaction score
I saw some tweets about this earlier. I bet we'll finally get ud and MIUI and all kinds of other great stuff on the d2 now. This is a great day!

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

OP
J

jt1359

Reaction score
Yeah I have a D2G. I know I can still get custom ROMs cuz I'm using one but I also know my bootloader is locked so I can't get custom kernels. If I were to get a custom kernel, could I use cyanogenmod?

I saw some tweets about this earlier. I bet we'll finally get ud and MIUI and all kinds of other great stuff on the d2 now. This is a great day!

What are ud and MIUI? I'm still a bit of a noob, sorry.

bookie

Reaction score
Ud and MIUI are a couple sweet roms that have been mostly unavailable to d2 and dx because of the locked bootloader. Cyanogen is the same way. Custom kernels mean truly custom roms

tecwizrd

Reaction score
Great day in the Moto phone community. I own the D2G, right now Fission is the best thing going for these phones. Now though I might get a working Liberty, or other rom. dancedroid

leobg

Reaction score
Read it is the sholes key. Sholes is the Motorola Milestone, I wonder if Motorola used same key to sign other devices like our D2G (which is close descendant of the Milestone). Really exciting news! Hopefully development will pick up now if the bootloader is really defeated!

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL

The Robot Cow

Reaction score
Correct me if i'm wrong.
With the bootloader unlocked devs can create custom kernals which will aid with custom roms?

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App

Asphyx

Reaction score
Correct me if i'm wrong.