unlock

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by el3men2809, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. el3men2809

    el3men2809 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can the verizon galaxy s3 be unlocked to be used by another carrier in the dominican republic.
     
  2. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Officially, the Verizon S3 does not have support for GSM networks at this time. The hardware is there, but it's not enabled in the software. Verizon has said that a future update will enable the GSM capabilities of the phone. Once that happens, it will automatically be unlocked for use with any GSM carrier around the world.

    Alternatively, you can use some work arounds in order to enable the GSM radios if you can't or don't want to wait on Verizon's update. Here's a thread on XDA-Developers that has a couple different ways of doing it. But of course, like with anything like this that isn't officially supported, you'll do that at your own risk.
     
    #2 bsweetness, Nov 16, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  3. el3men2809

    el3men2809 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told that the phone could be unlock there...by claro or orange
     
  4. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Currently, that's not true unless you use one of the methods in the thread I linked to. The hardware is there to use GSM, but the software is not. Once it is enabled (either officially by Verizon or through a work around), there will be no need to unlock it. It will already be unlocked.
     
  5. el3men2809

    el3men2809 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok..so there is no way of unlocking this phone yet....even I they put a unlock code like they told me...
     
  6. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    The phone is already unlocked. There are no need for any codes now or in the future.

    But the problem isn't that. The problem is that at this time, the phone only works on Verizon's CDMA and LTE networks. The GSM radio that would be needed in the Dominican Republic does not work right now. If you put a SIM from a Dominican carrier in the phone, it wouldn't work because the GSM radio doesn't work, not because of it being locked or unlocked.

    So, long story short, the phone won't work right now in the Dominican Republic unless you use one of the methods in the thread I linked to, but those are unofficial workarounds that aren't 100% guaranteed to work or to work consistently.
     
    #6 bsweetness, Nov 16, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  7. julioon29

    julioon29 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I unlock my bionic to go to metro pcs? I'm coming from Verizon.
     
  8. emilioangeles95

    emilioangeles95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Android
    As long as your phone is asking for "SIM Network Unlock PIN" it can be unlocked.
     
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Here we go again?

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  10. me just sayin

    me just sayin Gold Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    Trophy Points:
    348
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +1,225
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    its your fault
     
  11. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,220
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Uhhh....sure it is???

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  12. me just sayin

    me just sayin Gold Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    Trophy Points:
    348
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +1,225
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    gotta blame someone and you seemed like a likely candidate and you a long time member posting in an old thread :p
     
Search tags for this page
app para desbloquear galaxy s3 de verizon
,
can you use your verizon galaxy s3 in dominican republic wit
,
carrier unlock verizon galaxy s3
,

how to unlock galaxy s3 for dominican republic

,
how to unlock galaxy s3 to use in the dpminican republic
,
how to unlock verizon galaxy s4 no password
,
unlock galaxy dominican republic
,
unlocked s3 used on verizon
,
verizon s3 on claro
,
will an unlocked samsung galaxy s3 mini work in dominican re