unlimited plan, specific questions...not to beat a dead horse

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless' started by blee1222, Oct 26, 2013.

  1. blee1222
    Offline

    blee1222 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We just received a new iphone5 (sitting in the box on my lap), upgraded on a dumb line, and we have 2 unlimited lines, one having an old iphone4. That's the ultimate line i want the new phone on. I have 3 quick questions...1. do i have to activate the new phone on the dumb line first? 2. If so, can i do it on the website, or do i have to call VZW? 3. Can i call VZW and they do all of this for me, meaning will they activate the new phone on the unlimited for me willingly, knowing i am keeping the unlimited data with an upgraded phone from another line? Thanks for any help.
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,707
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    1. yes. If you activate it on your unlimited line you will lose unlimited and be moved into a tiered plan

    2. Not sure, I always did mine in store to be sure.

    3. Pretty sure they'll tell you if you activate on the unlimited line that you'll lose it.
  3. Roget83
    Online

    Roget83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I just activated the phone on the dumb line. Then switched the phone to the unlimited and canceled the data plan on the dumb line. Everything went well.
    1 person likes this.
  4. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That's how it's done. Done this many times. ;)

    Beamed From the white sun in the S4 Galaxy.
    1 person likes this.
  5. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I want to do this. I have a dumb phone line i was going to cancel. Where did you buy your phone. How specifically did you active it on the dumb line? On line? In a store?
  6. Roget83
    Online

    Roget83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Went to the Verizon store and bought the phone. Had it activated on the dumb line. Went home and switched the sim card. Went online and canceled the data plan on the dumb line. Reactivated the dumb phone. I think I was charged a dollar for the data plan I canceled.
  7. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I used the dumb line at Verizon ...walked in told rep I need to upgrade my dumb line and put transfer to my unlimited line immediately ..only extra step was we called customer service they had me power off my old dumb phone and power on after switch back ..hit *228 to activate dumb phone again..

    N3 tapa
  8. blee1222
    Offline

    blee1222 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First, I am trying to do this all online to avoid going into a store. But if going into a store is easier, so be it.

    So.....the steps I was/am going to use is activate the new phone on the dumb line....done...activated with a 2 GIG data plan. I was then going to put the dumb phone back on the dumb line and switch the new Iphone to an unlimited line.

    So I have 2 lines with unlimited and a line with the new Iphone (previously a dumb line) with a 2 gig plan. I then went to put the dumb phone back on that line, and then switch the Iphone to an unlimited line. But, when I went to put the dumb phone (LG VX8300 flip phone), the site sends me a window stating...The device you're activating is not compatible with your current plan. Please select a Data Plan below.
    Your SIM Card will be deactivated in 90 days.

    I thought when I put the dumb phone back on the dumb line, the previous plan would come back into play. Do I need pick yet another cheap data plan and then go back later and remove it? Am I doing this correctly?
  9. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Call customer service they will help you over phone ...call from landline I'm sure it can be resolved quickly

    N3 tapa
  10. trucksix
    Offline

    trucksix New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get tons of email, if unopened on cell phone, I just open 2, do all count against data allowance or just the 2 that I opened??
Search tags for this page

the device you're activating is not compatible with your cur