Unknown artist when using music player

Nikonf3

Reaction score
hi all!

Ive been using my Droid for 6 months now and love it.

However...

when using the music player the song title shows up with the the artists name beside it. The artist is then listed as "unknown artist".

Also:

the albums are not seperated. for testing purposes I have loaded 2 albums on the droids SD card. The songs show up as 1,1,2,2,3,3, etc.

Other info:

I am using WMP and dragging my albums onto the droid via the sync.

While syncing WMP shows the title, album and artist, etc

Help!! (please).

TIA.

OP
N

Nikonf3

Reaction score
I did make a change and select "maintain heirarchy" which seems to have seperated the albums.

However the artists name is attached to eached to song title.
ie: 07 Were gonna win Bryan Adams.wma

The folder branching shows the Artist first, then branches to a folder with the album name on it, then the individual songs as shown above.

PereDroid

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Moto Turbo 2
You don't want it to name your tracks like that?
You have to configure whatever program you use to rip music to name them how you want them.

Assuming you are using Windows Media Player.
Open it. TOOLS > OPTIONS
Click the RIP MUSIC tab.
Under RIP MUSIC TO THIS LOCATION click on FILE NAME.
There you can choose how songs get named when they are ripped.
Right now you probably have selected
TRACK NUM
TITLE
ARTIST

Last edited:

Hurocrat

Reaction score
Wrong name...

PereDroid, I think that's missing the point. What you're describing isn't the song name; it's the file name. What Nikonf3 is saying is that in the droid music player, the file name is showing up where the song title is supposed to be. In other words, it's not reading the songs' metadata (title, artist, album, year, etc.) at all, just the music file itself, and because it can't read the song title it's just showing it in the library under the only name it can find - the filename.