uninstall safestrap???

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by Hollywood67, Jun 10, 2012.

  1. Hollywood67
    Offline

    Hollywood67 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to put eclipse v3.0 on bionic using safestrap but I can't get into safe mode anymore. when i try toggling in safestrap i wind up bricking my phone. can i uninstall safestrap? is there something i am doing wrong. rooted with motofail and running .905

    help?
  2. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Whats the error you get?
  3. deduct
    Offline

    deduct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Happened to me after I updated to 905 too. I backed up my stock rom after updating and then went into safestrap and quick toggled to get back to the safe side.
  4. Hollywood67
    Offline

    Hollywood67 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    error restoring /data then back to stock. just like I pulled it out of the box. very frustrating. I use titanium backup, so shouldn't I be able to restore to what I had easily?
    Help on both would be appreciated!!!
  5. Hollywood67
    Offline

    Hollywood67 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    scared cause quick toggle says dangerous, but if it works. you know how to restore?
  6. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    On unsafe side, go into safestrap app and uninstall recovery ans then install recovery. Try to switch again.

    If that fails, you will need to uninstall recovery in app and delete the safestrap folder on phone. Then install recovery and try to switch.
  7. Hollywood67
    Offline

    Hollywood67 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK I will try but right now I don't have safestrap app showing, what to do?

    Edit: Ok got everything back with tibu.
    uninstalled recovery and then installed recovery switch failed

    Edit: Same process finished with tibu. uninstalled recovery deleted safestrap folder on phone. Installed recovery and VIOLA switched!
    Time for eclipse v3.0. Hope it works.. THANK YOU eye_dea...deduct
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  8. deduct
    Offline

    deduct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have gone this route before. It does work.
  9. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Your on stock, right? Are you on 905? Restore app with Tibu or redownload it.
  10. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    I'm having a silar issue after installing the .905 update via stock recovery. I installed the update and it installed correctly and fine, but now:

    A: when I reboot, there's no safestrap menu/screen
    B: safestrap is giving me force closes when boot up and I try and open the app
    C: as a result of "B" I can't do as suggested and uninstall recovery in app then reinstall

    I believe I do still have root because cheesecake is being allowed superuser permissions, but after safestrap force closed on me a couple times, I checked the logs in superuser and it's saying safestrap was denied.

    Do I just need to reroot with motofail, or is there another way around that? (don't have access to my pc, I'm at work)

    Thanks in advance for any help!
  11. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe try this: Go into super user and set ALLOW for safestrap? Maybe that is why its force closing, because it was not allowed permissions, possibly by accident?
  12. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    Just checked again and NO apps are showing up in the SuperUser list. Does this mean I lost root when updating?

    EDIT: Just tried opening Root Explorer to test it and the app was denied - safe to assume I lost root?
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  13. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like it, try rooting with MOTO FAIL and see what happens.
  14. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    Ugh...I'm at work and not near my laptop/cable. This may be a stupid question, but is there any way to root directly through the phone without a PC?
  15. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not sure on that question, There may be, but it is probably pretty extensive. Just wait until you get home to root, the phone is operating correctly still right?
  16. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    Yea it's operating just fine, I just wanted to try eclipse 3.0 today in comparison to CM9. Ahhh, oh well...maybe on my lunch I'll run home and root :p
  17. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do that, because eclipse 3.0 ROCKS. I haven't used any other ROM ever, so I may be biased :D

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  18. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    I've been using the CM9 Unofficials put out by Dhacker and they're pretty ballin. I don't think on the 6/5 build I'd lost data once, but I kinda miss Flash and wanna give eclipse 3.0 with some nICEcream a try :)
  19. deduct
    Offline

    deduct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Eclipse 3.0 with titanium-ice theme running holo launcher is my favorite setup. And, I've tried pretty much everything else.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  20. nola
    Offline

    nola New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX Geaux LSU!
    okay I ran home during lunch, and ran motofail again, installed safestrap, and am now successfully running eclipse 3.0 with nICEcream. It's a great rom thus far - has it's ups and downs. It's definitely missing some of the snappieness of the ICS roms, but at the same time, has much more stable data. I'll play around with it for a bit, and see how I like it :)
Search tags for this page
delete safestrap
,
how to remove safestrap
,

how to remove safestrap recovery

,
how to uninstall safestrap 3.11
,

remove safestrap

,

remove safestrap bionic

,

removing safestrap

,
removing safestrap bionic
,
uninstall safestrap
,

uninstall safestrap bionic

,
uninstall safestrap on bionic
,

uninstall safestrap recovery