under volting

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by tonloc91483, May 26, 2011.

  1. tonloc91483
    Offline

    tonloc91483 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wondering who has had success with it and who hasn't? How do u turn off undervolt if it becomes unstable.....
  2. jrobi25
    Offline

    jrobi25 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    been running undervolted and overclocked (1.25 ghz) since yesterday.....no a problem so far....
  3. Mheller91
    Offline

    Mheller91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you overclock with this?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. jrobi25
    Offline

    jrobi25 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jrummy16's DroidX overclock app and setcpu both in the market....

    Sent from my ZombieStomped DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. sf11035
    Offline

    sf11035 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    setcpu wont let me overclock. max speed is 1 ghz
  6. tonloc91483
    Offline

    tonloc91483 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you use Jrummy16's DroidX overclock app to overclock
  7. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    I tried the undervolt hack with ZS. How can you tell if its actually installed? There aren't any settings to change after the reboot or anything...

    sent from my ZombieStomped X
  8. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dl quickclock advanced. Simply the best app (works well with droid overclock). It will calibrate your max and min values for voltage and frequency

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
  9. PetRiLJoe
    Offline

    PetRiLJoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    Ratings:
    +1

    Undervolt/Overvolt usually isn't a personal preference, but it is offered on some of the kernals out there, for example, Chevy01 offers kernals of varying maximum speed + varying "Ultra Low Volt, Low Volt," medium (average??) .. and maybe one more.

    But what you NEED to know is that you can't "turn it off." Your phone's processor is being powered by a certain amount of voltage from the battery.

    It's all powered by some amount of voltage. If you are having issues booting up try a lower maximum MHZ kernal. So get one for 900mhz MAX instead of 1100 if 1100 won't boot or is bootlooping. I Stick with medium volt, or average, and don't go LOW or ULTRA LOW until I know the higher volt works. Lower volt does not always mean better.

    The answer to your question is in RED above, but more importantly if you are having issues with a kernal you have to flash another kernal. You need to be FAMILIAR with flashing manually! If your kernal causes your phone to bootloop you can't use a handicap like Rom Manager. You have to go on your computer, download a different kernal, transfer it to the root of your phones SD card (use USB, mass storage via the Clockworkmod or what-have-ye) and just try again.

    I always download multiple different versions of the kernal I want, if not ALL of them, and put them in their own KERNAL folder in my SD card. That way I don't have to go back to my computer if one doesn't work, I have another ready to be flashed.
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not sure if the op can flash kernals being on a d2g.
    Like I said before, for us d2 users, quickclock advanced will find the lowest voltage we can run at without crashing.

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
  11. PetRiLJoe
    Offline

    PetRiLJoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Opelika, AL
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh... I didn't know that about D2s. I haven't had enough Android OS modding experience outside of my Motorola Droid. But I am always looking to learn something new!