Unable to start Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Cypher, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. Cypher

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I recently noticed that my Wi-Fi won't start ("unable to start wifi"). I have no idea where to even start to debug this. I have my droid OCed to 900 mhz. I was going to use a backup I made in sprecovery but I found that there is none! :( (I'm also kinda freaking out about that. Should I start from scratch?)

    Does anyone have advice or a thread that answers this? I haven't been able to pin anything down using the search function.

    Thanks ahead!
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Considering you dont have an backup, I'm going to say something got jacked when you did your last flash. Your best bet is to start over from scratch and do it all over again. Sorry I dont have a better suggestion.
     
  3. Cypher

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's worth a shot, but be prepared to have to wipe it completely if that doesnt work.

    I really dont like that your Nandroid backup isnt there... It just makes me wary of anything else that may or may not work on the phone.
     
  5. Cypher

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If thats what "simple nandroid backup" I do have that option.

    The WiFi is the only thing I've noticed that has been not functioning correctly.
     
  6. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Simple Nandroid backup will take the latest backup and restore automatically.

    Advanced Nandroid backup will allow you to select from any of the backups you have and select which directories you want restored.
     
  7. Cypher

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for clearing that up.

    So if I didn't make a backup when I first got sprecovery am I SOL??
     
  8. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Assuming you didnt use DroidMod, and you didnt manually do a recovery, then yes, you'll be unable to revert to your previous state.

    At this point, backup your important stuff, and start back over from scratch. Sorry dude.
     
  9. Cypher

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used DroidRootHelper...

    Oh well. I'll give the WiFi fix a try and salvage what I can. Thanks again.
     
  10. jimmyg

    jimmyg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, I figured I would ask here since I just rooted my droid like 3 days ago, I dont use WiFi to often however since I rooted droid and added Adamz Rom my WiFi just says "Unable to Start Wi-Fi". I can't get into any setting or able to add networks. just keeps saying i'm unable to.

    Any ideas? :icon_eek:
     
  11. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Download a new AdamZ or ChevyNo1 kernel and install via update.zip.

    Should correct the problem.

    use search.

    E
     
  12. jimmyg

    jimmyg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know how this is done? sorry new to this... also noticed that my phone will not work with GPS. might un-root, seems to much trouble and nothing is really being gained other than looks...
     
Search tags for this page
android unable to start wi-fi
,
i am unable start wifi on my motorola mobile xt5
,
motorola blur unable to start wifi
,
motorola cliq unable to connect to wifi
,

motorola cliq unable to start wifi

,

motorola xt502 unable to start wifi

,
motorola xt502 wifi problem
,
phone says unable to turn on wifi motorola cliq xt
,
unable to start wifi
,
wifi fail to start on motorola xt502