Unable to start Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Cypher, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    I recently noticed that my Wi-Fi won't start ("unable to start wifi"). I have no idea where to even start to debug this. I have my droid OCed to 900 mhz. I was going to use a backup I made in sprecovery but I found that there is none! :( (I'm also kinda freaking out about that. Should I start from scratch?)

    Does anyone have advice or a thread that answers this? I haven't been able to pin anything down using the search function.

    Thanks ahead!
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Considering you dont have an backup, I'm going to say something got jacked when you did your last flash. Your best bet is to start over from scratch and do it all over again. Sorry I dont have a better suggestion.
  3. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's worth a shot, but be prepared to have to wipe it completely if that doesnt work.

    I really dont like that your Nandroid backup isnt there... It just makes me wary of anything else that may or may not work on the phone.
  5. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If thats what "simple nandroid backup" I do have that option.

    The WiFi is the only thing I've noticed that has been not functioning correctly.
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Simple Nandroid backup will take the latest backup and restore automatically.

    Advanced Nandroid backup will allow you to select from any of the backups you have and select which directories you want restored.
  7. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for clearing that up.

    So if I didn't make a backup when I first got sprecovery am I SOL??
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Assuming you didnt use DroidMod, and you didnt manually do a recovery, then yes, you'll be unable to revert to your previous state.

    At this point, backup your important stuff, and start back over from scratch. Sorry dude.
  9. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used DroidRootHelper...

    Oh well. I'll give the WiFi fix a try and salvage what I can. Thanks again.
Search tags for this page
android unable to start wi-fi
,
garminfone unable to start wifi fix
,
how to start motorola blur 5o2
,
i am unable start wifi on my motorola mobile xt5
,
motorola blur unable to start wifi
,
motorola cliq unable to connect to wifi
,

motorola cliq unable to start wifi

,

motorola xt502 unable to start wifi

,
phone says unable to turn on wifi motorola cliq xt
,
unable to start wifi
,
why is it that my wifi is unable to start
,
wifi will not start on motorola blur