Unable to start Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Cypher, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I recently noticed that my Wi-Fi won't start ("unable to start wifi"). I have no idea where to even start to debug this. I have my droid OCed to 900 mhz. I was going to use a backup I made in sprecovery but I found that there is none! :( (I'm also kinda freaking out about that. Should I start from scratch?)

    Does anyone have advice or a thread that answers this? I haven't been able to pin anything down using the search function.

    Thanks ahead!
     
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Considering you dont have an backup, I'm going to say something got jacked when you did your last flash. Your best bet is to start over from scratch and do it all over again. Sorry I dont have a better suggestion.
     
  3. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's worth a shot, but be prepared to have to wipe it completely if that doesnt work.

    I really dont like that your Nandroid backup isnt there... It just makes me wary of anything else that may or may not work on the phone.
     
  5. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If thats what "simple nandroid backup" I do have that option.

    The WiFi is the only thing I've noticed that has been not functioning correctly.
     
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Simple Nandroid backup will take the latest backup and restore automatically.

    Advanced Nandroid backup will allow you to select from any of the backups you have and select which directories you want restored.
     
  7. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for clearing that up.

    So if I didn't make a backup when I first got sprecovery am I SOL??
     
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    Assuming you didnt use DroidMod, and you didnt manually do a recovery, then yes, you'll be unable to revert to your previous state.

    At this point, backup your important stuff, and start back over from scratch. Sorry dude.
     
  9. Cypher
    Offline

    Cypher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used DroidRootHelper...

    Oh well. I'll give the WiFi fix a try and salvage what I can. Thanks again.
     
  10. jimmyg
    Offline

    jimmyg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, I figured I would ask here since I just rooted my droid like 3 days ago, I dont use WiFi to often however since I rooted droid and added Adamz Rom my WiFi just says "Unable to Start Wi-Fi". I can't get into any setting or able to add networks. just keeps saying i'm unable to.

    Any ideas? :icon_eek:
     
  11. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Download a new AdamZ or ChevyNo1 kernel and install via update.zip.

    Should correct the problem.

    use search.

    E
     
  12. jimmyg
    Offline

    jimmyg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know how this is done? sorry new to this... also noticed that my phone will not work with GPS. might un-root, seems to much trouble and nothing is really being gained other than looks...
     
  13. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are plenty of benefits of rooting your phone, but if you don't understand them before you root, you really won't understand that.

    You need to look for an over clocking kernel that is compatible with rom you are using, you should be able to find that in the thread you downloaded the rom from.

    Wifi is complied with the kernel, not the rom. That is why you need to find a new file that isn't broken.

    Just look for chevy under custom roms, download and install one of his OC kernels and you should be good to go. His kernels are some of the best out there.

    Rename the file to update.zip, put it on the root of your sdxard, reboot into recovery and install the update.zip.
     
  14. jimmyg
    Offline

    jimmyg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using Adamz ROM will using Chevy's mess with anything?

    Also, when i open Maps it finds where i am so GPS works... however when i try to use navagation it will lay out the map and give directions but sits @ finding GPS and it never moves. Would changing the kernel fix this?

    *EDIT* installed Chevy's! fixed both of my problems! ty again!
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  15. Getti33
    Offline

    Getti33 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    GENIUS! worked for me too!dancedroid
     
Search tags for this page
android unable to start wi-fi
,
i am unable start wifi on my motorola mobile xt5
,
motorola blur unable to start wifi
,
motorola cliq unable to connect to wifi
,

motorola cliq unable to start wifi

,
motorola xt502 unable to start wifi
,
motorola xt502 wifi problem
,
phone says unable to turn on wifi motorola cliq xt
,
unable to start wifi
,
wifi fail to start on motorola xt502