Unable to reboot?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by titans, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think anyone has this problem, but it's worth posting it.

    I flashed UD8, UD rEVO theme, and chevy's 1 ghz ulv. I backed up the rom after it was done restoring my applications, but it wouldn't boot up after that. I tried flashing a higher voltage kernel, kernel from a different dev, and it still didn't boot, it looped the boot animation. My phone has no problems handling whatever ULV or LV speed kernel you throw at it. Has anyone else been not able to reboot?
     
  2. bendystrawboy

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    install a diff kernel.
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you read my post that's what I did...I installed a higher voltage and a kernel from another dev.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Titans, are you able to boot into recovery? If so, restore and just install the rom then boot make a backup then add the theme or kernel. It will be interesting to see if that makes a difference.

    Mike
     
  5. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I actually installed a CM backup I had and reinstalled UD 8 again. Im afraid to reboot through, my phone may never come on again =)
     
  6. bendystrawboy

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes i read your post, if your phone loops guess what, the kernel wasnt working so the answer would be..try another lower kernel.
     
  7. Russ2387

    Russ2387 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this problem. I have flashed this rom 8 times. Thought it was titanium backup. But that's not it... Guess I'll try a new kernel. Will have to wait till sunday, I'm on the road...
     
  8. Russ2387

    Russ2387 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shouldn't the kernal that comes with the rom work?
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    One would think so!
     
  10. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Are you trying to install all this in recovery before even rebooting? If so I think I would try installing the ROM, rebooting. Installing the kernel, rebooting, installing the theme, rebooting.
     
  11. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the problem for this before is that when the market restores apps for you then you reboot it wont reboot. if you skip signing on install and reboot you will reboot fine. its not a kernel issue or that. something with the market. full thread farther down about it with a work around. no complete fix found yet, bc not sure exactly what is causing it to happen from the market. not an app or anything. just something with the market restore.