Unable to install GAPPS

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by shantis212, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.

    I've never wiped data after installing. I'm assuming you don't mean the "wipe data/factory reset" option inside of clockwork recovery. But I could be wrong. Am I supposed to do that after installing a rom? I don't recall seeing that in any instructions that I've found.

    If I am to wipe data somewhere else, I'd be happy to try if you can provide some instruction.

    based on those directions, i'm not wiping data after installation at all. either way i followed them as written, and still no luck.

    would it be better if i posted this in the rescue squad forum?

    Yes, I'm sure it is a good GApps file. I've tried the same one I used originally, re-downloading them, and downloading directly from rom manager. I know of one other instance of the same problem. Unfortunately that person has been able to find an answer to issue either. Thanks for your assistance.

    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you wipe data after installing? vending.apk might be in data.
     
  3. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this in recovery
    1. Wipe data
    2. Wipe data
    3. Format System
    4. Install rom
    5. Install GAPPS
     
  4. titans

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can ask a mod to move it if you want...are you sure you're using a good GAPPS file? Open it as an archive with 7zip, look through the folders and see if everythings there
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Merged and moved to correct area, Please refrain from cross posting.
     
  6. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +6
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    It sounds like you used rom manager to download the rom and gapps for you. Not recomended. Open rom manager, then hit menu, then clear download cache. Now only use rom manager to flash custom recoveries, maybe a kernel here and there and to automate you backups/restores.

    Otherwise, download the rom and gapps with your computer, transfer them to your sdcard and then use basically the method titans outlined.

    But what he means in his step 1 and 2 is use the wipe data/factory reset option while booted into clockworkmod recovery. I only do it once, the theory of multiples still excapes me. Do we need to format our hard drive twice when installing a fresh OS? Also, while the format system is a great idea, that is one of the first endian commands in the updater-script file that installs almost every rom developed, including CM.

    good luck
     
  7. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've only tried rom manager as a last chance effort, it's a lot easier to just download on my computer and transfer the files over.

    I moved from RZR-SPR to Clockwork Recovery to see if that would change anything. Might as well try different things to see if i can narrow down the issue. Since it hasn't, I've moved back to RZR-SPR.

    I still don't know what exactly is wrong, but I've gone ahead and tried installing other roms, to see what the various outcomes would be. It appears the only ones my phone has issues with, are the ones that require GApps be installed separately, ie. cyanogen and sourcery. Project Elite and Chevy's roms install just fine.
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
  9. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is where I go to download them too. It isn't a bad zip file. I wouldn't have posted if it was that simple. Thanks for trying.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    What file are you downloading? Link me.
     
  11. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    And you're installing these with SPReocvery, CWM, or RZRecovery? If CWM or RZR, which version?
     
  13. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    using rz 2.0.3
     
  14. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I'm going to recommend you install SPRecovery with the recovery-only SBF and try renaming the files update.zip to install them. If you still have a problem at that point we know it's either the downloads (not likely) or your phone.
     
  15. shantis212

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just to clarify, you mean this file?
    MC1_A855_1282081087_Recovery-Only_SPRecovery_0.99.3b.sbf

    would you like to start from the beginning with the sbf below?
    VZW_A855_ESD20_QSC6085BP_C_01.3B.01P_SW_UPDATE.sbf

    1. vzw sbf
    2. mc1 sbf
    3. wipe factory reset/data/cache, etc
    4. install cyan 6.1.2 as update.zip
    5. install gapps as update.zip

    is that how you would like it done?
     
Search tags for this page
bad gapps droid
,

gapps bad

,
gapps cm titan
,
gapps cyanogenmod 6.1.2
,
gapps for cm7 for motorola a855
,
instalar gapps motorola a855
,
install gapp cyanogen
,
install gapps
,
installed sourcery 4.2 without gapps
,
wrong version of gapps installed