1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Unable to install GAPPS

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by shantis212, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.

    I've never wiped data after installing. I'm assuming you don't mean the "wipe data/factory reset" option inside of clockwork recovery. But I could be wrong. Am I supposed to do that after installing a rom? I don't recall seeing that in any instructions that I've found.

    If I am to wipe data somewhere else, I'd be happy to try if you can provide some instruction.

    based on those directions, i'm not wiping data after installation at all. either way i followed them as written, and still no luck.

    would it be better if i posted this in the rescue squad forum?

    Yes, I'm sure it is a good GApps file. I've tried the same one I used originally, re-downloading them, and downloading directly from rom manager. I know of one other instance of the same problem. Unfortunately that person has been able to find an answer to issue either. Thanks for your assistance.

    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you wipe data after installing? vending.apk might be in data.
  3. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try this in recovery
    1. Wipe data
    2. Wipe data
    3. Format System
    4. Install rom
    5. Install GAPPS
  4. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can ask a mod to move it if you want...are you sure you're using a good GAPPS file? Open it as an archive with 7zip, look through the folders and see if everythings there
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Merged and moved to correct area, Please refrain from cross posting.
  6. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    It sounds like you used rom manager to download the rom and gapps for you. Not recomended. Open rom manager, then hit menu, then clear download cache. Now only use rom manager to flash custom recoveries, maybe a kernel here and there and to automate you backups/restores.

    Otherwise, download the rom and gapps with your computer, transfer them to your sdcard and then use basically the method titans outlined.

    But what he means in his step 1 and 2 is use the wipe data/factory reset option while booted into clockworkmod recovery. I only do it once, the theory of multiples still excapes me. Do we need to format our hard drive twice when installing a fresh OS? Also, while the format system is a great idea, that is one of the first endian commands in the updater-script file that installs almost every rom developed, including CM.

    good luck
  7. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've only tried rom manager as a last chance effort, it's a lot easier to just download on my computer and transfer the files over.

    I moved from RZR-SPR to Clockwork Recovery to see if that would change anything. Might as well try different things to see if i can narrow down the issue. Since it hasn't, I've moved back to RZR-SPR.

    I still don't know what exactly is wrong, but I've gone ahead and tried installing other roms, to see what the various outcomes would be. It appears the only ones my phone has issues with, are the ones that require GApps be installed separately, ie. cyanogen and sourcery. Project Elite and Chevy's roms install just fine.
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  9. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is where I go to download them too. It isn't a bad zip file. I wouldn't have posted if it was that simple. Thanks for trying.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    What file are you downloading? Link me.
  11. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    And you're installing these with SPReocvery, CWM, or RZRecovery? If CWM or RZR, which version?
  13. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    using rz 2.0.3
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I'm going to recommend you install SPRecovery with the recovery-only SBF and try renaming the files update.zip to install them. If you still have a problem at that point we know it's either the downloads (not likely) or your phone.
  15. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just to clarify, you mean this file?
    MC1_A855_1282081087_Recovery-Only_SPRecovery_0.99.3b.sbf

    would you like to start from the beginning with the sbf below?
    VZW_A855_ESD20_QSC6085BP_C_01.3B.01P_SW_UPDATE.sbf

    1. vzw sbf
    2. mc1 sbf
    3. wipe factory reset/data/cache, etc
    4. install cyan 6.1.2 as update.zip
    5. install gapps as update.zip

    is that how you would like it done?
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    No need for a full SBF unless this doesn't work. :) The rest of it is accurate, though.
  17. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    unfortunately that didn't resolve the issue. i'm going to assume you want me to do the full sbf next. here i go.
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Good luck. :)
  19. shantis212
    Offline

    shantis212 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah that didn't work either. if it's not the recovery and it's not the zips, it has to be my phone. seeing as there is one other person i know of in the same predicament, it's not a completely isolated incident.

    is there an easy way to combine the individual zips and see if it will work successfully when done at the same time? if not, i'm open to any other suggestions. otherwise i'll just stay put till i upgrade the phone down the road i guess.
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You could try Pete's stock Gingerbread ROM.
Search tags for this page
bad gapps droid
,
droid x2 installed wrong gapps and recovery disappeared
,
gapp installation
,

gapps bad

,
gapps cyanogenmod 6.1.2
,
how to install gapps file
,
how to install gapps on cyngence mod 6.1
,
how to install the gapp file
,
instalar gapps motorola a855
,
install gapp cyanogen
,
install gapps
,

installed sourcery 4.2 without gapps

,
rom manager install google apps
,
unable to install cyanogen zips (bad)
,
wrong version of gapps installed