Unable to connect to my wifi network

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by uoficowboy, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. uoficowboy
    Offline

    uoficowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi - I have an odd problem. My phone can connect to my apartment's wifi network, but it cannot seem to use the network for data purposes.

    Now, here is where it gets stranger:

    My computer can connect just fine
    My girlfriend's old Epic 4G could connect just fine
    My girlfriend's current IPhone 4S can connect just fine
    My old Droid running CM7 could not connect
    My Nook color can not connect

    The router is for my whole building and I do not have the ability to change settings on it.

    Any suggestions?


    Edit: I checked and my computer's IP is 192.168.80.101
    Here is the status of the connection according to my phone:

    Status: Conneted
    Security: WPA/WPA2 PSK
    Signal strength: fair
    Link speed: 65Mbps
    IP address: 192.168.80.109
    Proxy settings: none
  2. uoficowboy
    Offline

    uoficowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nobody? I'd love to have this problem fixed - it drives me nuts!
  3. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Your settings look to be correct. Is it possible there is more than one device trying to use the IP? I would try going into the wireless settings and 'forgetting' the connection. Then go to Application settings and 'clear cache' in the browser. Power off and restart and make a new wifi connection to the router to test. Let us know.
  4. Cattledog1969
    Offline

    Cattledog1969 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    A Wealthy Cape Cod College Town
    What does "Clear Cache" do for the procedure?
  5. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Maybe nothing, but it wouldn't hurt. Sometimes a thorough cleanup helps. That's why a factory reset helps with things that can't be helped otherwise. A reset requires a lot of setup, so try other things first. If you don't want to clear your browser cache, don't. I hope you will post your progress.
  6. uoficowboy
    Offline

    uoficowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried forgetting the connection before. I just reinstalled .902, then updated to .905. I then added the connection, then cleared the cache, then reset, then put in the password again. No difference. Still shows connected, still no Internet!
  7. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    How about setting the IP address manually, just pick something like 192.168.80.123 or something higher than you've seen on other devices that is likely in the range of IP addresses that the router uses.
  8. uoficowboy
    Offline

    uoficowboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried setting it to a static settings. Here is what I gave it:

    IP: 192.168.80.199
    Gateway: 192.168.80.1
    Netmask: 255.255.255.0
    DNS 1: 68.87.69.146
    DNS 2: 68.87.85.98

    All those settings were stolen from my computer's settings (though it has DHCP enabled), except for the IP which I just chose a random large number in the same subnet.

    Still doesn't work :(
  9. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Hmm, that stinks. In almost all of the other forum posts i've seen related to things like this, the solution has been on the router end. Unfortunately that doesn't seem like an option for you. Perhaps you could go buy a cheap router somewhere and set up internet connection sharing on your computer with your lan port.
Search tags for this page
192.168.80.199
,
android failed to connect to network
,

android phone unable to connect to wifi

,
android unable to find wifi
,

android wifi unable to connect

,
droid 4 unable to connect to wifi
,
droid charge unable to connect to wifi
,
droid not able to hook up wifi
,

droid razr unable to connect to wifi

,
droid x2 unable to connect to wifi
,
lg ally wont connect to wifi
,
lg proxy settings
,
moto droid razr unable to connect wifi wep security
,
my droid dna wont connect to wifi
,
s4 unable to connect to wifi