Un locking Motorola for GSM use

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by grolson, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. grolson

    grolson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Western New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi All, we have 2 phones, Moto Razer Maxx and Moto Ultra maxx, Both are 4G and if I'm correct they can be unlocked for use on GSM or ATT, I'm thinking of switching carriers and this would avoid getting new phones.
    How would I accomplish this??
     
  2. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    I think it should be possible. If you own the phones, you should be able to get Verizon to SIM unlock it for you (if it is required).

    Correct me if I am wrong, but these are the two phones you are referring to:

    Motorola RAZR MAXX
    Motorola DROID Ultra


    Side-by-side comparison of the phones

    Both phones support GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900. AT&T uses 850/1900 for 2G and 3G
    Both phones support HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100. AT&T uses 850/1900 for HSPA+
    It looks like the DROID RAZR MAXX only supports band 13 which is owned by Verizon in 700Mhz.
    It looks like the DROID Ultra supports band 13. It also states 1700/2100. I am assuming that is AWS (or band 4).

    Work just got really busy, but I will look in to it more later.
     
    #2 grenefroggie, Dec 2, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2014
  3. grolson

    grolson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Western New York
    Ratings:
    +3


    Hey, Thanks. Yes, those are the phones in question. Will I have to tell Verizon I'm traveling to Europe or can I just request them to do it. They have to know It is because I might switch carriers...
    Also, My Razzr Maxx did not receive an update to Lollipop, anyone know if its possible to do it manually??
    It seems to be really slow lately.