UD wont boot past Motorola Boot screen

Discussion in 'Blackdroid' started by DarkDroider, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. DarkDroider

    DarkDroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found UD when 7.8 came out and been hooked ever since! upgrade to 8 the day it came out and then 8.1.1.

    While i was reading posts i learned how the OTA updates works using ROM Manager and took a few trial and errors to understand the inner workings.
    I began to upgrade to 8.6.3 when it was done downloading i updated, it did a good install with no errors, but when it restarts it hangs on Motorola Logo and never boots fully...

    I've tried every way possible but the upgrade wont get past the boot screen, i've also tried downloading the ROM from the PC and that also didnt work... i want to give up but just cant!

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Clownassasin

    Clownassasin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey i sort of had the same problem that your having, my guess is that there is something wrong with the way you installed the ROm and you probably didnt install it correctly. I would suggest installing it through the clockwork recovery by doing an advanced nandroid restore and selecting the ROM file

    i dont know if this makes sense to you but its what I did and it worked
     
  3. DarkDroider

    DarkDroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will give it a try.. let me go over the methods i've tried...

    First i used the ROM recover method, downloaded update, and let it do the update..

    2. i used astro and moved the .zip to the main SD and renamed to update and installed using SPrecovery....

    3. i went online and downloaded the update online from PC and transfered and renamed update.zip....

    4. i unzipped the file in the nandroid and tried to do a full install.

    5. retried these same steps a few other times. thinking the next time it would work..
     
    #3 DarkDroider, Mar 29, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2010
  4. Funkybrunk

    Funkybrunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you attempt to install a kernal? Getting stuck at the motorola logo usually indicates a kernal problem.
     
  5. DarkDroider

    DarkDroider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surprise, Az
    Ratings:
    +0
    I DID INSTALL A KERNAL! thats when i started getting ALL my issues!!!! i tried to install a slot 5 1.1ghz before i did the 8.6.3...... but nothing worked right since.
     
  6. srtfool32

    srtfool32 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    when installing the update it asks which kernel you want. i recommend 7 slot medium volt 1ghz just so you can get booted up then test higher form there.
     
  7. Funkybrunk

    Funkybrunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm. If you flashed a kernal before 8.6.3, maybe that's not the problem. The update should have flashed the default ud kernal (adamz 1gz medium volt I think). Try a different kernal from blackdroid's 8.6:3 thread and see if it fixes it.
     
  8. BamaFan13

    BamaFan13 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fayetteville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem...
     
  9. gtp4820

    gtp4820 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the same problem as you did last night when i was trying to update my ROM. tried all the same methods as you did to no avail.

    eventually i re-downloaded the ROM and it installed fine. i would suggest deleting the ROM you downloaded, and re-download and install. worked for me.
     
  10. whowland

    whowland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same prob here too.. I think it had to do with kernal, I picked the wrong one the first time, blackdroid says to use medium volts not low or high... I don't know just putting my 2cents in..
     
  11. OPTIMUS124

    OPTIMUS124 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Ratings:
    +0