UD Gingerbread ROM thread

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by aj8600, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am currently working on debugging the camera right now. ill post results when im done

    EDIT: if anyone has had luck with debugging it please post some steps to do it yourself!
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
  2. dmdj232

    dmdj232 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    tried this out and it does seem smoother...I like the new layout. So far I can't get the auto-rotate to work. any suggestions?
     
  3. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the accelerometer is currently broken on the ROM im looking into fixing it
     
  4. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    From what I remember, this is how to get the camera working (I might be wrong...you might also want to ask in the other Gingerbread thread in "Android Roms"): You will have to copy the camera's lib files from Froyo over and into /system/lib, set permissions on them, and reboot. I THINK this was how the camera was fixed. I don't remember the names of each file, but if you look in an UD zip and go into /system/lib, the files all have the word "camera" in them. If this doesnt work, again ask in the other thread.

    Just a note, the video camera still isnt working though.

    Edit: Here are the details for anybody debugging the camera:

    When compiling the Gingerbread build, errors were being generated that dealt with the camera service. In order to successfully build Gingerbread, all code relating to this had to be commented out. The result is that the lib files corresponding to the camera service weren't getting compiled and included in the build.

    Now, this is just a hack to get it to work as we are still using the 2.2 library when it comes to the camera and not 2.3. In other words, if new code was written dealing with the camera you won't see it using this method. The camera will be the same as it was in 2.2.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
  5. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you, kind sir
     
  7. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i might have just put my droid into a bootloop.... GRRRRRR!!
     
  8. elucid

    elucid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Jose
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any news on this? it seems some folks are making progress with camera and gapps.
     
  9. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have camera and Gapps working... im looking into more stuff right now but im not really a Dev to say the least, bootlooped my phone already tonight, but ill keep you posted if i find anything
     
  10. zachdroid

    zachdroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    When you say restore the image do you mean install the backup file that was moved into the clockworkmod folder? Or are we just supposed to install a certain part of the file?

    I might be doing this wrong but when I tried flashing the "backup" file I got the message that the md5 sums don't match. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
  11. aj8600

    aj8600 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    you gotta put it into clockwork mods back up directory then restore it as from recovery
     
  12. zachdroid

    zachdroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I did do that. I was in recovery mode, made a backup of my device and then returned to the nandroid folder and selected it (after it was unzipped and relocated) and I got the message that the md5 sums were different and it aborted the install.