UD 8.0 = My wifi went bye bye.. help?!

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by xkape, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Yes I just noticed this.. What can I say, I'm in 3g land most of the time.

    I can't connect to my or any other wifi network.. It finds the network just fine but it won't connect to it. It just says connecting... and then disconnected.

    Is there a way to just use adb to push a file to my comp? I really don't want to wipe and start over installing and setting up apps and shortcuts and such.
     
  2. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had this issue with UDv7.0 and it was related to cvpcs's kernel.... which leads me to my question... Which kernel are you using?
     
  3. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
  4. serum153

    serum153 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm. Have you figured it out? I came from Chevy ss and wiped before installing this awesome rom and have had no wifi issues at all.
     
  5. RafficaX

    RafficaX Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    install a chevy kernel, they come with the twilain driver for wifi also. let me know how that works for you.
     
  6. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    ^+1 I am using a chevys kernel and am having no issues with my wifi.
     
  7. hammerhead13

    hammerhead13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +284
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Droid Turbo
    I was using a Sapphire Kernel & was having the same problem. I just installed a Chevy Kernel & it fixed the issue.
     
  8. markwebb

    markwebb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +24
    I was having the same issue with this rom and uninstalled it. Maybe I will try a different kernel as well. Thanks for the information. Otherwise I wasn't about to use UD ever again.
     
  9. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    I am not sure sapphire's kernels are completely compatible with this rom. I too was on a sapphire kernel and just thought to try something different. I am enjoying the speed of the chevys kernel and the smoothness of UD.
     
  10. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Thanks for the input folks. My phone doesn't do so good with other kernels but hey, new ROM. Why not give it a go and see.
     
  11. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    sonuva... ok, on a positive note, I can run Chevy's 1.2 lv. Still no wifi though. Any way I can do a backup with Titanium or Astro and then wipe everything, install UD again and get all my stuff back? Like my game data, bookmarks, shortcuts, personally themed (in the apps settings) apps?
     
  12. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well you can try backing up all apps & sys data and see if it'll take a restore...I never had any luck with that ...and I doubt you can overwrite the apps icons using Titanium, or Astro.