1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

UD 8.0 = My wifi went bye bye.. help?!

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by xkape, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Yes I just noticed this.. What can I say, I'm in 3g land most of the time.

    I can't connect to my or any other wifi network.. It finds the network just fine but it won't connect to it. It just says connecting... and then disconnected.

    Is there a way to just use adb to push a file to my comp? I really don't want to wipe and start over installing and setting up apps and shortcuts and such.
  2. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this issue with UDv7.0 and it was related to cvpcs's kernel.... which leads me to my question... Which kernel are you using?
  3. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
  4. serum153
    Offline

    serum153 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Hmmm. Have you figured it out? I came from Chevy ss and wiped before installing this awesome rom and have had no wifi issues at all.
  5. RafficaX
    Offline

    RafficaX Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    install a chevy kernel, they come with the twilain driver for wifi also. let me know how that works for you.
  6. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    ^+1 I am using a chevys kernel and am having no issues with my wifi.
  7. hammerhead13
    Offline

    hammerhead13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I was using a Sapphire Kernel & was having the same problem. I just installed a Chevy Kernel & it fixed the issue.
  8. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    I was having the same issue with this rom and uninstalled it. Maybe I will try a different kernel as well. Thanks for the information. Otherwise I wasn't about to use UD ever again.
  9. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I am not sure sapphire's kernels are completely compatible with this rom. I too was on a sapphire kernel and just thought to try something different. I am enjoying the speed of the chevys kernel and the smoothness of UD.
  10. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Thanks for the input folks. My phone doesn't do so good with other kernels but hey, new ROM. Why not give it a go and see.
  11. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    sonuva... ok, on a positive note, I can run Chevy's 1.2 lv. Still no wifi though. Any way I can do a backup with Titanium or Astro and then wipe everything, install UD again and get all my stuff back? Like my game data, bookmarks, shortcuts, personally themed (in the apps settings) apps?
  12. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well you can try backing up all apps & sys data and see if it'll take a restore...I never had any luck with that ...and I doubt you can overwrite the apps icons using Titanium, or Astro.
  13. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    go into settings ,wireless networks , wifi settings. go in there and make sure you have your wifi password checked......if you dont have a password protect make sure there is nothing in the box...Thats what it sounds like to me..That is the exact sorta thing that happens when there s no password and one is needed...I hope this helps!!! :) UD8


  14. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    hookerdj.. intersting you say that.. I was just in there and noticed it wasn;t checked but I paid no mind... after I restore (1.2 lv decided not to work after about 20 min) I believe I will go in there and do that.....

    just too damn hard to pay attention at 1:30am :)
  15. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    I hope you get it working......GLAD I could help ya :) UD8


  16. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    no dice. I guess tomorrow I just get to start from scratch and go back to 7.0
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    just out of curiosity, since it's already broken.. is it the tiwlan_drv.ko that's giving me issues here?
  18. dbuglio
    Offline

    dbuglio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm bumping this, I haven't been able to connect or even find wifi this past day. I can turn wifi on however it does not find any ap's at all.

    Chevy's ULV 1.250 kernel
  19. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Last ditch effort (because it's a pain in the butt). Reset router, no go. Just flat out unplugged the router. Came back a few minutes later and plugged it back in. Wifi works. Now if only I can get every wifi spot in the whole world tounplug and plug back in their routers..lol
  20. antz2xplicit
    Offline

    antz2xplicit New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mass
    Well the same thing was happening to me where i couldnt connect to ANY wifi, yeah it was saying i was connected but i had no conectivity.

    the solution: (and i felt like a total jackazz) is so simple that i didnt even think of it...

    go into your wifi settings and delete all save networks... rescan for networks.. find yours and long press it.. go to change password and look at security.. take it OFF of AUTO and put it either on WEP or WPA/WPA2 (TKIP) and put your password. Thats it. your wifi should say obtaining ip adress now. hope this helps :)


    p.s this probably wont stop the rebooting because my does still from time to time.

    ANTTTT