Two bricked razr's in less then 24hour

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by onelowbirD68, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. onelowbirD68

    onelowbirD68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I was useing my razr yesterday (playing on facebook) and it reset it self. The only thing it would do is light up the status bar at the top. I tryed resetting it and it would do the same. Took it to verizon and the first the lady did was try and try to pull the back off to pull the batterie, I told her it dont pull out like other phones. She did not believe me so she had to call the manager over, wel he told her it dont pull. So she did what she had to, to get me a new phone. The new razr came in today and it does the same thing, so now im waitting for a 3rd on to come in. Has anyone had this problom befor? O and im not rooted. Thanks and sorry that was long.
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Totally unheard of till now. Let us know what number three is like.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19,330
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,226
    I know vzw reps have a lot of phones and people to deal with but by now they should know the razr has a non removable battery.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,009
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,174
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    You probably did, but did you try a simulated battery pull?? Hold volume down and power at the same time...

    Also, have you tried booting into safe mode????

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Since he's already got number 3 on the way, no sense in troubleshooting number 2. If number 3 fails the same way, I believe we can conclude it's not the phones and that it has to be a software conflict. Then it's just a matter of a FDR and installing one by one till it fails again.
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    14,009
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,174
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Agreed :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  7. onelowbirD68

    onelowbirD68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I tryed the volume down plus power , the guy at verizon tryed that safe start and it would not do any thing. I just find it odd how it happened out no where and the new one did the same
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Since you're watching, did you install ANY user-installed software? Second, if you did, did any of it come from outside sources (*besides the Google Play Store*)? Just trying to set the stages for the troubleshooting.
     
  9. onelowbirD68

    onelowbirD68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the apps I had came from the app store(play), iv not downloaded any new ones in over a month. And im using my samsung fascinate, bigg difference comein back to it from my razr
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Don't even want to compare...RAZR is the bomb. As for the apps, do you know which ones you installed? Could you produce a list?
     
  11. onelowbirD68

    onelowbirD68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Ratings:
    +0
    The apps I had were, color note, fox fi, fb messenger, amazon mp3, amazon, e bay, flashlight, zedge, handcent, epic fail, ppl. Of walmart, advanced task mananger, droid forum, audio manager, tv listing, weather bug, battery app, my album fb, netflix and hulu. I think thats it
     
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Good info. Let me do some research.
     
  13. onelowbirD68

    onelowbirD68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most of thos have been on the phone from day one. and I had angry birds in space, that was the last app I got
     
  14. FoxKat

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    2,477
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    I'm going to play a hunch and say that epic fail and people of Walmart could easily be offending applications. I would uninstall them both and try again.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  15. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +96
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    I never knew that PoW had an app. I love that site. I checked out the app and there was a lot of complaints about it force closing all the time. I agree with Foxkat dump it. As for me I think that i'll stick to going to the site with my browser. It's slower but safer.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
     
Search tags for this page

how to change skyvi voice

,

zedge bricking phone