Twitter name in sms thread?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by radiofootage, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. radiofootage

    radiofootage New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so im texting one of my buddies and i noticed that instead of his contact name, it displayed his twitter name; it did that when he called as well and i dont think i like it! HELP!
     
  2. BlooS

    BlooS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have twitter syncing with your contacts? Go to Twitter settings and at the bottom and change it so it doesn't sync.
     
  3. radiofootage

    radiofootage New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this didnt seem to work!
     
  4. lzacker

    lzacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same problem! When I unlink Twitter from my name in contacts, it reverts to my name, but when i link Twitter to my name in contacts, itchanges to my twitter name. I cannot figure out how to have my name in the contacts (not my Twitter name) and still be linked to Twitter in my contacts. Help!
     
  5. DoctorFu

    DoctorFu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same exact issue. I found my contacts are still flooded with Twitter contact names even though I already removed Twitter from the accounts section in my Droid X. I noticed when I pull up the contacts from my phone with a Twitter account linked it shows as "null: " and then their Twitter account name. This is extremely.frustrating to say the very least. Can anyone suggest how to make this stop?
     
  6. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Seems like I have more duplicate contacts every time I look. They're multiplying.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    www.google.com/contacts Delete duplicates then resync.
     
  8. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks cakes. Just curious why it happens. Doesn't synching twitter or fb recognize it already exists? Seems to ignore what's already there.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Back in November when I first joined this forum, I read a few horror stories about syncing fb. I learned from their mistakes and never used those syncs so I really don't know how to help. Hopefully someone will come along soon that can. Good luck!