[Tutorial]Sysctl and you, A guide to better preformance and battery life.

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by Jboxen, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be able to change it in the build.prop manually. 99imoseyon doesn't change the lcd denstity every reboot, just initially on the install.
     
  2. phoenixus

    phoenixus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I use the zip file in the op and install it on my phone, do I still need to go into liberty settings and enable systcl and make those changes? Or does the zip file take card of all that?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you reboot your phone then your vm caches will be reset from the reboot anyways.
     
  4. swagmonster

    swagmonster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks jboxen.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0

    The .zip will take care of it all, you can test with the script in the OP.
     
  6. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem.
     
  7. jjj751

    jjj751 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I want to make sure I got this right. I had sysctl enabled in Liberty Toolbox and then I went and installed this zip anyways. Then I did the "pgrep -f crond" command and I got 2928. Is this right? Also I went into busybox installer and it still says I have busy box version 1.17.1 installed and not the 1.80 that the zip was supposed to install. What does the zip set besides the dirty background ratio, dirty ratio, free bytes, and cache pressure? Also what does the zip set those values to?
     
  8. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use the
    Sysctl -a | grep vm
    Command to check sysctl values.
    The zip worked fine and you also have 3 busyboxs installed right now.
     
  9. Aohus

    Aohus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow im getting ridiculously awesome battery life with this enabled (via droid overclock app). not sure if its really sysctl thats giving me longer battery life.

    in a nutshell, what exactly is sysctl doing? i'm still having a hard time grasping what the values mean, such as dirty ratio, minn free kbytes, etc.

    is there a place where i can read up on it thats not too technical?
     
  10. imoseyon

    imoseyon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Jboxen

    Jboxen Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Imoseyon, Jrummy brought up a good point, can you gtalk me sometime today?
     
  12. gammaxgoblin

    gammaxgoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i check the settings:

    "vm.panic_on_oom = 2"

    mine shows = 0

    is this an error in the zip file?
     
Search tags for this page
android dirty ratio
,
laptop mode android
,
min free order shift
,
overcommit ratio android
,

sysctl examples

,
sysctl examples android
,
sysctl tutorial
,
vfs cache pressure android
,
vm laptop mode android
,
vm min free order shift