Turning off Backup Assistant?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by jat19620, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. jat19620
    Offline

    jat19620 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Western Provinces, Kentucky
    Noob to posting -- longtime lurker...
    Pretty wowed by my new S3, but wondering if there's a way to turn off that pesky Backup Assistant without rooting? Tried to disable in App Manager, but that option is greyed out. Did a search here, and it suggested removing updates first, but haven't had any to remove
    I've changed the internal app settings so that all possible categories to back up are unchecked, I've told middle of the night, wi-fi only, and I've still caught it trying to back up everything via mobile data during the day.
    Thanks!
    jat
  2. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Good luck, another bloat app by Verizon that you can't touch, there is even a sticker advertising back up assistant PLUS on the charging micro USB cord that came with the phone, good old bent over assistant plus, LOL.
  3. jat19620
    Offline

    jat19620 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Western Provinces, Kentucky
    Yeah, saw that stupid tag -- even went to the website to see if there was an answer there! lol
  4. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    Never activate is the only way. Don't give a pin when you first set up the phone.
  5. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What is the purpose of this app anyways. Is there any reason not to not activate it in the first place. is there any risk?
  6. cybertec69
    Offline

    cybertec69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    I activated it, it backs up anything you have to Verizon server, from contacts to pictures, you choose what you want to back up, I choose my contacts, they give you 500 MB free space.
  7. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Just don't activate it when setting up the device. If you configure your phone properly, all your contacts are backed up on Google's side (through Gmail/Contacts).

    If you ever want to leave Verizon.....why leave all your contacts behind with them....take them with you with Google/Gmail.

    Don't activate, freeze it with Titanium Backup....done.
  8. rjcapp
    Offline

    rjcapp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MD
    Do a factory reset and do not activate the verison backup assistant (uncheck) . Use Google account to backup everything.

    Before you factory reset back up everything.

    You can export your contacts from Verizon and import the .CVS file into Google.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  9. ralgrl73
    Offline

    ralgrl73 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What do you mean by "freeze it with Titanium Backup"?

    I'm going to have to do a factory reset b/c I can't stand this damned backup assistant. UGH and GRR. So, before I do the reset I'll need to backup what I can -- thing is I've never done that before. Do you have any advice as to the best steps/things I should do to backup everything before the factory reset? I've never really done any type of backing up on my own so I want to make sure I do the best I can before the reset.

    Thanks!
  10. jat19620
    Offline

    jat19620 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Western Provinces, Kentucky
    Thanks for the good answers, even if they weren't what I wanted to hear (do factory reset - aaaargh).
    I wasn't acually the one who activated it in the first place. The nice folks at my local porvider's office thought they were doing me a favor by importing my contacts, etc., when they activated the phone......they didn't know I didn't use the service...
    Knew y'all would know what to do! :)
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    You can use "My Backup" to backup your apps, settings and data. And use SMS Backup & Restore to backup your text messages. You can also backup many of your app settings within individual apps by going into the app's menu. When there are choices for backup in an app, it us usually listed toward the bottom of the menu.

    Then do the fdr but do not select to erase your internal phone storage. After you fdr and activate your phone, it may automatically start to install the apps you had installed before. If you would prefer to install each app individually, then go into play store and select "stop" then swipe the play store screen to the left and you will have a list of every app you had installed. You can go through this list and choose which apps you want to install.

    Many apps will automatically restore the previous settings. Some you can go in the app's menu and may have a choice to restore backup (you would have had to backup from that app prior to being able to restore from that app). Others, you can either set that app's preferences/settings again manually or go into My Backup and restore the app's settings from there.

    You can also just go into My Backup and have it reinstall all your previous apps, settings and data in one click (actually the purpose of that app) but I prefer the above method only because it helps ensure a cleaner install.

    Although My Backup can backup your texts, I prefer using SMS Backup & Restore to backup and restore my texts because I can choose which texts I want, which I don't want, etc.

    Hope this helps.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  12. Talon8Ya
    Offline

    Talon8Ya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Way Upstate NY
    I activated it myself and never thought the backup asst. would be such a pain so I activated it as well.
    Not what I wanted to hear either a factory reset after I just got all my apps setup and data moved from my original Droid 1.
    Given time though a work around will pop up I'm sure.


  13. skennelly
    Offline

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    No need to factory reset. As long as your contacts are backed up by Google, go to settings - application manager - all and find contacts. Select it and clear data. Exit back to the home screen and open contacts. When BUA prompts you for your pin, just select skip.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
  14. deborah3756
    Offline

    deborah3756 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Thank You! That Backup was driving me nuttier than I already am!
  15. skennelly
    Offline

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Lol! No problem.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
  16. ralgrl73
    Offline

    ralgrl73 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do I make sure my contacts are also backed up by Google before doing your suggestion?
  17. skennelly
    Offline

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Go to settings, accounts and sync and select Google. From there you can choose what Google will backup and sync.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
  18. Talon8Ya
    Offline

    Talon8Ya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Way Upstate NY
    Nice I am going to try this out. I really did not need the BUA this will be nice.
    Thanks! DancingNexus

  19. krazy006
    Offline

    krazy006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i did the backup you said. Then did the rest of everything and nothing happened. So i ended up clearing data on some other contact thing and lost all my info....did a factory reset and had said no to everything even though it still forced me to try and do the backup for video and pictures, but i just only synced my google account but out of all my contacts i only had about 16 out of the 100+ i have normally with the Backup Assistant. So my questions would be how can i get to to save all my contacts even the ones that have been put on my phone form backup assistant, cause i tried to just press sync contacts from google with no luck. THANKS.
  20. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not sure it worked. I backed up contacts. opened application manager, and cleared data for contacts, exited to homscreen, opened app drawer, selected Contacts, and was never prompted for anything. all my contacts were still there? Where did I go wrong.
Search tags for this page
backup to bua
,

disable backup assistant plus

,

disable backup assistant plus galaxy s3

,
disable verizon backup assistant galaxy s3
,

galaxy s3 backup assistant

,

how to delete backup pictures from galaxy s3

,
how to delete pictures from backup assistant
,
how to stop backup assistant plus on verizon
,
how to turn off backup assistant
,
how to turn off backup assistant on galaxy s3
,

how to turn off backup assistant verizon

,
samsung galaxy s3 backup assistant turn off