Turning off all data

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by bastosero, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read in another forum that one can turn off all data on the Droid by doing this...


    To disable data:

    - Open dialer
    - Dial *#*#4636#*#* - 'Phone Info' screen appears
    - Press Menu button
    - Tap on More
    - Tap Disable data connection

    Simply reverse the steps to re-enable your data connection ... either immediately, or after your next reboot.


    Does this make the phone use 2G instead of 3G (does it turn off 3G)? Is it even possible to use 2G on the Droid? Has anyone else tried this?
  2. pandroid
    Offline

    pandroid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes it does work. disables both 3g and 2g connection

    your phone should revert to 2g when 3g is unavailable
  3. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it turn off voice for calling also?
  4. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Or you could just put it in airplane mode.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I was going to say, there is an easier way to do this.:)
  6. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turning on Airplane Mode turns off the voice data though, right?

    I wanted something that turned off everything except the voice so I could still get calls. I was wondering if what I originally posted did that.
  7. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Why would you want to do this? Just curious..
  8. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to conserve battery power

    the more data your phone uses, the more juice it will consume...
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    The only thing that works in airplane mode is wifi. And of course you would have to have wifi turned on and be available. Everything else is off so it will turn off voice.
  10. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, but I'm looking for something along the lines of having everything off except the voice data for making and receiving calls. I don't know if what I originally posted on this thread accomplishes that or not. Has anyone else tried it by the way?
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  11. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Turn off sync, and turn off any apps that use data.
  12. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've already thought about that, but that doesn't turn off everything that I want to though. Plus, that's kind of a hassle to do if I wanted everything back on in an instant.
  13. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyway, I heard there were some apps in the market for something like this to turn off/on data, but they don't work (something to do with the apps being that they only work on GSM and not on CDMA).
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  14. zetachi
    Offline

    zetachi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Sorry to hijack but I have a question. If in Airplane mode does that turn off GPS also? I'll be traveling next week on a cruise and would need anything that uses data plan off but would like to have GPS on for directions when we are ashore or just for fun to track where the ship is.

    Thanks
  15. rjax
    Offline

    rjax New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I understand about Airplane mode, GPS will work with some apps, but not others. But I haven't seen a definitive list. It seems like something you should be able to test for yourself pretty easily.
  16. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Ok, Im going on a cruise in April. Now VZW service will be unavailable. But we can still connect to GPS Sats w/o cell service?
  17. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    No, google maps/navigation need a data connection to download maps. Your software would need to be able to cache maps beforehand.
  18. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT

    thats what I thought. It would be nice to have that ability thought, cached maps.
  19. ShowTime
    Offline

    ShowTime New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I mean no offense and I don't mean to question your purchases (people are free to buy whatever they want), but why get such a feature-rich, connected phone if you don't want to be able to use any of the features? It sounds like all you really want is an extremely basic cell phone. :confused:
  20. Twist747
    Offline

    Twist747 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry that I don't know the name of the app, but I have seen an app that stores the maps on the phone (as I understand) allowing to use the GPS & Maps w/o a cell connection.
Search tags for this page
android disable all data
,
droid 3 turn off data
,
droid 3 turn off data services
,
droid turn off data
,
droid turn off voice and data
,
how to turn data connection on and off motorala droid 3
,
how to turn off all data on android
,
how to turn off data connection on android
,

how to turn off data on droid

,
how to turn off data on droid 3
,
turn off data droid 3
,
turn off data on droid