Turning off 4G with ICS

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by cnero1987, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. cnero1987

    cnero1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just updated my RAZR to ICS and really like all the changes, but the 4G drains my battery too quickly...is there a way to turn it off without turning off all data with ICS? I've checked the network settings and there is a Global, CDMA/LTE, and GSM/UMTS. The Global and CDMA/LTE settings both run 4G and the GSM just doesn't work. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Jungle King 76

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Download an app called phone info from the play store. That app accesses the data settings you need. There is a drop down for network and you just change it to cdma only.

    If you don't want to download an extra app, you can dial *#*#4636#*#* from the dialer and it will bring up a menu. Choose phone info and change network to cdma only. The app just gets you to the same place faster.

    Sent from my Droid RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk 2
     
    #2 Jungle King 76, Jul 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  3. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    There's another way...

    Download https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.andirc.lteonfoff. It was written fit the HTC Thunderbolt, but works for the RAZR. It places an icon on the home page that takes you right to the setting where you can select the network connection type.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Jungle King 76

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Lol. That app takes you to the exact same screen as the one I posted. Not really another way, just another app.

    Edit.....never mind, it just saves one touch. :)

    Sent from my Droid RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk 2
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    JK, I wasn't intending on stepping on your toes, just offering up an alternate way to the same menu, and as you mention it is more direct but only by one screen tap. I hope you know I respect and appreciate you as a contributing member and that your suggestion was also valid, effective and helpful...in fact you offered two basic ways to go about it as well.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Just an FYI. When you reboot you will have to do this step again. The settings will revert back to 4G after a reboot.
     
  7. Jungle King 76

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Back and forth between AZ and PA
    Ratings:
    +13
    Foxkat....no issues at all. It is just my quirky thought process that found humor in the way you described the app. I wasn't offended or anything like that. Nothing wrong with giving a user multiple options.

    Sent from my Droid RAZR using Xparent Purple Tapatalk 2
     
  8. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    1,253
    Ratings:
    +727
    I hear that this happens. I've never had that prob. Once set, it stays on 3g for good.
     
  9. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Interesting. Every time I reboot it reverts back to 4G. Not a big deal to change it again. Just sometimes I forget to.

    Tap'd from my Maxx
     
  10. cnero1987

    cnero1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help! Was able to turn the 4g off using the app with out any issues!
     
  11. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +56
    Mine did that at least once that i remember, but it has not done it for quite a while on mine either
     
Search tags for this page
how to disable 4g on droid razr
,
how to turn 4g off on razr
,

how to turn off 4g on droid razr

,
how to turn off 4g on razr
,
how to turn on 4g on droid razr
,
how to turn on 4g on lg g2
,
is there a way to turn off 4g on droid razr
,
razr maxx disable 4g
,
turn off 4g bionic ics
,
turn off 4g on droid razr