Turn off 3G?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by mapexvenus, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way I can turn off 3G to conserve my battery? I do not want to switch to airplane mode since I still want to be able to use the phone and receive push email.
     
  2. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    3G should save battery over using the older technology. So short of turning off the cell signal entirely, the answer is no.
     
  3. hendrix
    Offline

    hendrix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizons cdma network is not setup this way. If you don't have 3g then the only way you get data is over a connection slower than dial up. Not very usable unfortunatly and verizon has no 2g so we cannot fall back to that. Sorry
     
  4. Jef
    Offline

    Jef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, There is 2g

    That 1x you might see in the status bar is CDMA's RXTT1x which is 2g(ish).

    see if you can turn off EVDO in the program menu I believe ##PROGRAM and then 000000

    I can't find a setting for it, but maybe if you lower the data rates it will stick to 1x?

    interesting there is a symmetrical 153/153 as the last choice.
     
  5. Woolox
    Offline

    Woolox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I work in Washington and live in Canada. My plan covers all calls within North America so I can call to Canada from the States and vice versa. My data is unlimited in the States, but I have to pay when I am in Canada. My plan is to turn off 3G and just use WiFi when I am in Canada for my data so I don't get the roaming charges. How do I turn off the 3G and will this accomplish what I want to do?
     
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    As far as turning off 3g goes, the only certain way to turn it off is airplane mode.

    I've tried many different apps to try and turn it off, but they don't turn them off.

    I'm new to the data plan and I plan on going to Canada in the spring, I wouldn't want any roaming charges. I don't even know how roaming charges really work to be honest....

    someone wanna fill me in =P
     
  7. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Guys,

    there is a simple way to conserve battery and turn off 3G

    Goto Settings > Wireless > Mobile Networks and check the 2G only box.

    This has the following result. Your Network is ONLY operating on gprs or EDGE, and there is no parallel connection for Phone calls AND data at the same time.But, it really conserves battery.
    I have 2g always....except when surfing in the train. or googlin stuff.

    It works perfect for me ;)
     
  8. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Don't see this one the Droid.

    Only thing that pops up is "Data roaming" and "System Select"

    When selecting "data roaming" you get a warning message "allow data roaming? you may incur significant roaming charges!" By default, this box is unchecked, unless I unchecked it and forgot i did...
     
  9. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    I'm gonna agree with JohnDroid. 3g isn't actually really draining the battery unless it's in use. I mean yeah it's always on standby, but majority of the time it's the display that eats at the battery than when you're not using your data.

    So basically, at least the solution so far is, to either turn it off, or run in airplane mode (which you might as well save more battery and turn it off), but I use it as an alarm clock, so I go to airplane mode sometimes. I got friends who like to hang out at say 3am, and I don't wanna deal with that, so airplane mode it is.
     
  10. Woolox
    Offline

    Woolox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you come to Canada, you will want to turn off your 3G at the border to avoid any

    roaming data charges on top of your current plan. That is what I am trying to figure out is

    what is the best way to do that? You can surf, email, use the internet, etc. using WiFi at

    a coffee shop or McDonald's if you need to and not have to pay roaming data charges.
     
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the Milestone, yes. But not with the Droid.
     
  12. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,048
    Likes Received:
    745
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +757
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Can't believe how useless data plans are out of state. I won't be able to check email or other things on the fly because of roaming charges. I know roaming can get very expensive and don't want to risk the chance. Droid only functions as a phone outside of the state for me i guess...
     
  13. Woolox
    Offline

    Woolox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that Verizon only offered nationwide plans? I can use my phone anywhere in North America and the data plan in the United States without any roaming or extra charges.
     
  14. On Droids
    Offline

    On Droids Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look in the market-- '2G3G-OnOff' is the title
     
  15. olpallix
    Offline

    olpallix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
Search tags for this page
3g widget htc incredible
,
disable incredible 2 3g
,
how do i turn off the 3g ob tge droid incredible 2
,

how to turn on 3g on htc droid incredible 2

,
how to turn on 3g on incredible 2
,
htc incredible 2 3g disable
,

htc incredible 2 turn off 3g

,

turn off 3g on incredible 2

,
turn off 3g on incredible phone
,
where is the 3g widget located on htc incredible 2