trying to update from clean 2.0.1 + root .

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by evilsock, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying this 1st from sholes.info :


    The Sholes.info ROM of 2.1 apps on 2.0.1 and various other fun stuff
    January 6th, 2010 By SirPsychoS Write comment
    This could be considered an extension to the ROMs Berzerker posted previously, but it’s much more interesting now! With this one ROM installation file, you can choose which of the included packages to install through a menu, leading to much better customizability than previous versions.

    http://www.sholes.info/downloads/sp/sholes_info-rev6.rom.tgz
    md5sum 2dd8df42ea1ad6540107df0f83aefe05
    sha1sum 0aa3ae8bee7ddf443b7c59fec58f5d43fb837921

    UPDATE: A few bugs have been fixed in http://www.sholes.info/downloads/sp/sholes_info-rev10.rom.tgz

    i am trying the
    http://www.sholes.info/downloads/sp/sholes_info-rev10.rom.tgz

    went to recovery/install/install from sd card, and it cant find it,
    next i tried


    Version 4b (Everything INCLUDING Swype + Youtube HQ Hack):
    Download: http://www.sholes.info/downloads/sholes_info_4.rom.tgz
    md5sum: 13d679f336c547d404daeea65785132c
    sha1sum: 833c6e855bbd78e1a98ce4cf943d0d523f7e1f9e

    same thing, says no .tar files, do i need to rename it?
    i read in part of one thread to unzip it, tried to do that with androzip, it found it this time, but gave me error1 msg.

    coming from current:

    Also, for anyone who needs it, here's a clean 2.0.1 image with only root + busybox (use backup/restore with this image):
    Download: http://www.sholes.info/wp-content/up...oem-backup.zip
    md5sum: d5e24ab97e643a915a00d3a674e00776
    sha1sum: bbed9fb36b754128f6e105a70fb488160e133afb

    any help please, thanks in advance!
     
    #1 evilsock, Jan 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  2. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have SPRecovery-0.99.1b installed? and did you push the 10 build to the root of your card?
     
  3. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have latest recovery, and im not sure what u mean by push but i clicked and dragged it from pc to root of sd if the 10 build u spoke of is the file i DL from sholes
     
  4. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot into recovery
    Choose "install"
    Choose the option that says "Choose ROM from SD card"

    In your first attempt you chose the wrong option

    It should be there select it and follow the onscreen directions
     
  5. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got latest recovery on there from DriodRootPro app btw so if there are any further steps after that im unsure as to what they are
     
  6. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what i did, and it wont find them unless i unzip them with androzip, and then after it finds them gives error1 msg
    edit it says no .tar files unless u unzip with androzip
     
    #6 evilsock, Jan 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  7. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the part I am confused on?
     
  8. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That option exists and is different than the menu option I noted.
     
  9. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am in recovery i hit install, then install from sd and it says no .tar files found
    is a simple rename the issue?
     
  10. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    shouldn't choose install from sd card

    should choose to install rom from sdcard?

    You should then see the sholes..<blah>...tar.qz
     
  11. IEatCake

    IEatCake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its the bottom option, you shouldnt have to rename anything
     
  12. evilsock

    evilsock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    knox county TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what i choose and says no tar files found, they arent .tar when i dl them they say.tgz
    and they are in root of sd they dont need to be in a nandroid folder or something do they?
     
    #12 evilsock, Jan 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010