Trying to txt with voice actions

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by cwaters, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. cwaters
    Offline

    cwaters New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No matter how I say it, I can't get voice actions to put the recipient's name in the TO: box.
    I say: "Send text to Average Joe___Why doesn't this feature work?" Every single time, the TO: box is blank and the message starts with the recipient's first name.

    Is this feature working for you guys?

    CW
  2. Sippykipnip
    Offline

    Sippykipnip New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's a hit or miss on that for me too. Try saying the last name for example: Someone is Bob Smith....say "Text smith" and more 80% of the time, it's the person I was going for.
  3. heartlessmcfly
    Offline

    heartlessmcfly New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, Ny
    Did u run the program to set the phone to recognize ur voice...? Dunno if u did but I have to ask

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  4. cwaters
    Offline

    cwaters New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I don't think I did any "learn my voice" program. It's getting all my words right, it just puts them all in the message box.
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First you have to say it like this Text Bob *short-pause* and then your message

    Second, and most important, the Contact has to be synced with your Google Contacts for the Google Voice Actions to pick it up :)
  6. belome
    Offline

    belome New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you explain this to me. I have a gMail account, but I don't have any contacts in there. All of my contacts were loaded onto the phone by either Backup Assistant or when FB loaded everyone (which pissed me off.)

    What is google contacts?
  7. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google Contacts is associated with your Gmail Account, any contacts you put in your phone contact list will be synced with your Gmail account and any contacts you put in your Gmail contacts will sync with your phone, you just have to choose the sync option in settings/accounts and sync
  8. belome
    Offline

    belome New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I did have it sync'ing... but it only has contact that I added recently. How do I get it to sync all of my phone contacts?

    edit - it appears I have 'google' contacts and 'phone' contacts. How do I push my phone contacts to my google contacts?
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  9. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On the D2 I am not sure, the best way I know how to edit contacts is within Gmail on a computer

    In the meantime you should test the Voice Text on the one Google Contact you have
  10. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    My voice commands work just fine and I don't use google contacts. I did do the voice learning though.
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I'm a little confused at what it is you want to do. You want all your contacts with phone numbers in a group?
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    There's a voice learning thing on this? This is news to me, I can't find it. I see voice recognizer settings but nothing to teach the Droid your voice.
  13. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting...I have dealt with a few different cases of voice text not working right, like when you say (text bob) the name bob goes into the "text" feild instead of the "to" feild (although I have never had this problem) and the solution twice now, was to have the contacts synced with google first, and then it will pick the names up
  14. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hook, I didn't know that either...
  15. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, if I say text bob, it comes up with no To: entry, and Bob in the text field.

    But if I say "send text bob" the To: field has Bob's number and nothing in the text field.
  16. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep.
    Menu - settings - voice input & output - voice recognizer settings

    It has you go through a series of phrases. It isn't exactly the type where it trains it to hear words the way you say them specifically but it's very similar.
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  17. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the heads up pool_shark ;)
  18. rluther
    Offline

    rluther New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Voice action won't recognize contact names

    Same problem here. Turns out my contact list from backup assistant would not sync with Google contact list. Voice action apparently only looks at Google contact list. Found this fix on another forum:

    1- Open contacts
    2- Manage accounts
    3- Import/Export - EXPORT to SD Card
    4- Import/Export - IMPORT same file from SD Card to Google group

    That did it... works great now!
Search tags for this page
android voice not entering recipient
,
androind voice action send text doesn't fill to box
,

google voice actions not recognizing contacts

,

google voice actions text not working

,
google voice recognition sync contacts
,
google voice search won't find contacts
,
my voice command can not input recipient
,
s voice doesnt know my contacts on s4
,
s voice on s4 not finding my contacts
,
txt to voice
,
voice action text not working
,
voice actions won't work
,
voice android won't send text
,
why does my galaxy y can not add recipient to voice command
,
why wont my voice to text pick up what i say?