Trying to root old droid 3 - not working

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by fishacura, May 19, 2013.

  1. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    but he asked if he needed to remove bootstrap, before installing safestrap
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Different phone. His old D3 had bootstrap installed, never made the jump to safestrap.
  3. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    if bootstrap was never installed, then there is nothing to remove.
  4. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have cwr you need to undo the bootstrap with the app then install safe strap app and follow a similar process to install twrp recovery so you can have the multi ROM boots up to 5 with stock, but there's not much dev anymore on d3. But if you have put anything on this phone yet then just install the safe strap app.
  5. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually I did have one of the two phones rooted. Cannot determine how it was lost.So of course once I got root, knowing the phone was not a phone any-longer but a stand alone device (no VZ service any more) I started going nuts in Titanium backup deleting apps. Little risk because I'm not worried even if I trash the phone but I did make what seems to be a dumb mistake.I deleted something related to the Phone thinking "hey, no phone number any more so who cares". Now when I boot up I get an error message saying "The application com.motorola.hiddenmenu (process com.android.phone) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. I think I deleted this com.android.phone app or whatever it is. Whoops. Hope it doesn't screw me up. I'm hoping once I flash a rom on here it will go away.
  6. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
  7. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! Quick question. The first link doesn't take me anywhere....just to a generic forum page. Can you double check me and send the link?You guys rock!
  8. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    ok will fix

    edit: should be fixed not sure how I did that
    first link is a bookmark link in my Droid 3 page
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
  9. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    i don't know if google docs is having issues, or i'm not pasting correct
    Droid 3 page

    yes, the one click is pretty easy
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
  11. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just tried the link for the hell of it and it works for me, so its pasted correct.
  12. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK all...just used the rsdlite method to flash back to stock 5.7.906. Also just rooted using motofail. Both seemed to work and now I'm off to try safestrap. I absolutely LOVE doing this risk free since it's a throw away device. I really appreciate it! Memorial day will be spent understanding safestrap and flashing roms.
  13. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
  14. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THX! Doing it now!

    I installed safestrap but when I reboot it takes me to a different screen. Was I supposed to install clockwork mod prior to this step? If so, I'll go back and do it I just wasn't sure.
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
  15. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    you will need to manually install the .apk
    Move apk to sd card, navigate to file with phone’s file manager app, tap on it, select install,
    you may have to change system settings to allow unknown sources
    Menu > Settings > Applications > Unknown sources
    Last edited: May 24, 2013
Search tags for this page

droid 3 root

,
droid 3 root 2013
,
how to root a droid 3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root motorola droid 3
,

root droid 3

,
root droid 3 2013
,

root droid3

,
root motorola droid 3
,
rooting droid 3