1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Trying to root old droid 3 - not working

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by fishacura, May 19, 2013.

  1. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all. New S4 comes this week so I am trying to root an old droid 3 that's no longer using Verizon's service but that I am hoping to play with as a stand alone wifi device.

    I am using some of the old one-click methods (including Petes) but none seem to work. It's 2.3.4 and on petes I get a message stating "ERROR: adb could not be granted root access via local.prop method". Not very descriptive. I tried using the motofail files and I get errors like

    Unable to chmod /data/local/motofail: No such file or directory

    Remount failed: operation not permitted

    Failed to copy su to /system/bin/su: Read only file system

    It's in USB debugging mode, I have all the drivers, it is set as USB charge only, etc. Not sure why all of a sudden it's not working as the method is the same I used in late 2011 when I rooted mine and nothing should have changed. Anyone have any thoughts on things to take a look at? Very odd!

    The only thing I can think of is that it's some sort of driver issue but my device is found by the PC. I was using something from motos site called motohelper_2.0.51_Driver_5.2.0 Maybe that driver is too new as it's not the one I used 18 months ago.
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
  2. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to some great resources (thanks Pete)! Motorola released a patch that closed the ability to root using the old one-click method. ANYONE have any advice? Is it even possible anymore???
  3. chadwick108
    Offline

    chadwick108 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Western NC
    most all rooting methods require not to be in usb mode try in mtp mode and let me know if you have any luck I think I run into same issue when rooting my D3 ill try and findmynotes on it
  4. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THX for replying. ALL the D3 methods say to set phone to USB charge only mode but I will try ANYTHING once. What exactly is MTP mode and how do I set my phone to it?

    Also, from what I am hearing, sounds like motorola may have closed the back-door which allowed the old one-click root methods. So I'm not even sure if someone came up with a new method after that happened. Man I hope I can figure this out!!
  5. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll give it a shot tonight. Cross your fingers and thanks! Odd that there's not more out there on the droid 3. I guess people moved on and moto closed the loophole.
  7. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should work but if it doesn't I think there might be 1 other possible way. I will dig for it if this doesn't work for you.
  8. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Unzipped but at the same time Norton came back with a "TROJAN" warning so I'd be very careful with this one. I actually already had the motofail files but they did not work. Not sure what norton is blocking or if that's part of the file I need but I"m leery to allow it to pass given it's being flagged as a trojan virus.
  9. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most stuff like this always throws up flags with anti virus, I personally would ignore it. Just my 2 cents on that. I'll double check tomorrow at work to see if I still have the program I used to root mine. I almost positive I haven't deleated it. Have you tried Pete's Motorola root tool? Sorry see you did. I could only get Pete's to work windows 7 just FYI.
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  10. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK I found my girlfriend laptop that I used to root here d3. Its a window 7 and I used Pete's tool version 1.06 and the moto drivers were 2.0.40_driver_4.9.0 hope this helps .

    View attachment 63073



    View attachment 63074
  11. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I checked over at xda and the link I provided it the recommend way at this time to root d3, there was also a complaint from anti virus but told to ignore it. Good luck, I miss my ol' d3 sometimes lol
  12. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I rooted my droid 3 in the past using Petes and motofail as well. That was about 2 years back. I'm now trying to root my wifes.Here's the issue as I understand it. And I got some of this from none other than Pete himself. That original root method exploited a vulnerability with the D3 that motorola has since closed. So it looks as if nobody has since created a new root method for the D3 that will actually work.The one saving grace I may have is the PC driver. The only thing different now is that moto has much newer drivers. Do you happen to know where I can find your driver version? I'm thinking that perhaps if I use an older driver it may trick it into working. Long shot but you never know. Thanks for all the help!!!
  13. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    that will not work on Droid 3 with system version 5.7.906, use MOTOFAIL “Droid 4” by Dan Rosenberg
    it works well, your virus protection may see it as a threat, just disable your virus protection, before trying to open, because it can also interfere with rooting even if there is no pop up

    make sure you right-click on the motofail_windows.zip file, extract the files to a folder on your PC, and click the ‘run.bat’ file from that folder

    make sure drivers are correct
    Installing Drivers and Driver errors

    watch by Tomsgt123



    Root using a Mac and Motofail

    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  15. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0



    OK I think it might be a driver issue. I uninstalled all motorola files. Then I reinstalled MotoHelper_2.0.40_Driver_4.9.0 This is an older driver but the one I would have used when I had success. I then connected the phone to the PC but it's looking for a driver. Isn't the install of this motohelper the driver??? Why wouldn't it recognize the phone? It says "Found new hardware...adb interface" and asks if I want to install the driver manually. I click yes and look in the motorola folders installed when I ran motohelper but it doesn't let me pick any of the files. Any ideas?

    I tried your driver link above but that didn't take me anywhere (just to the forum main page)



    EDIT: Got a newer driver installed. Here's the weird thing now. Extracted motofail to its own directory. I run the run.bat file and one of the first errors I get in the dos window is "cannot open motofail...no such file". But then I notice it's in the zip file but NOT in the folder where I extracted everything. For some reason, this file does not extract.

    So then I manually extract the file from the .zip called "motofail" but it just creates a folder. So there seems to be no file called motofail that the run.bat file seems to be looking for.

    WTF lol! HELP!!!!!
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  16. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    which version of windows xp/7, 32/64 bit?
  17. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  18. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also read that the root tool needs to be on its own like a desktop file and not in any sub folders. The Dan rosenburg tool should work. Also try re dl'ing file just to be sure.
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  19. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    it could fail if buried in folders (path name too long), but doesn't need to be on desktop
    I run mine from C:\Backup\Droid Files\Tools\Root\motofail_windows
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  20. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I figured desktop would be easier, ya know? Lol
Search tags for this page

droid 3 root

,
droid 3 root 2013
,
droid 3 root one click
,
how to root a droid 3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 2013
,
how to root motorola droid 3
,
motorola droid 3 root
,
one click root droid 3
,

root droid 3

,
root droid 3 2013
,

root droid3

,
root motorola droid 3
,
rooting a droid 3
,
rooting droid 3