trying to root my eris and getting a red ! with a red trangle

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by paddyo75, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    has anyone had this problem? or know whats going on? it does it if i hold dowm vol up and power or if i hold down vol dowm and power and then go to recovery
  2. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That the recovery for the phone
  3. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    That is the Stock recovery for the phone. You can have root, and the stock recovery on an Eris. What method did you use to root?
  4. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    i havent even got to the rooting put, as soon as i try to go to recovery i get it

    this is wahat i used before, i had to get a new phone cause the last one stopped getting text so they can me a new one.

    This link should be helpful - [GUIDE] Root and flash Android 2.2 Froyo on your Eris!

    I am also going to move this thread to the Eris Section
    __________________
    Instead of feeding into negative behavior just report the post and move forward

    If you quote someone, you don't have to quote everything they write

    I don't mind your two cents, it's your nickel that I can do without

    Be the change you wish to see in the forum
  5. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
  6. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    thx for the help but

    your not understanding that i cant put the phone in recovery, when i push the power and vol down botton it goes to the hboot screen where i push vol up and then i get the red ! inside the red triangle every time. this is the prob that im having. so i cant even to to the spot i need to to open the zip file..and if i push power and vol up to go right to the recovery spot i get the same thing
  7. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    OK, I understand now. Have you confirmed you have root access through the terminal emulator?
  8. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    no i havent

    where do i find that
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Download terminal emulator from the market. (Its a free one).
    Open it up, and at the comand prompt, type su and hit the enter key. Your prompt will change from $ to # if you are rooted. IF it changes, download "Quick Boot" from the market. It will give you the option to boot to recovery.
  10. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    im not rooted, i know that and it said premission denied
  11. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ok. You need to download the 1 click root program, install it on your phone and run it. That will give you root and a custom recovery. Then you will be able to boot into recovery to flash a ROM.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8699733/erisone010.apk
  12. paddyo75
    Offline

    paddyo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Huntington Beach,CA
    I don't understand how I can do that if I can't get to the recovery screen

    Sent from my Eris using DroidForums App
  13. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    paddy, the one click root is an app. You download that file, and put it on your SD card. Using a program like Astro File manager, you can install it to your phone, then you can run it from your app drawer.
Search tags for this page
droid eris triangle will not reboot into recovery
,
eris root cant see reboot
,
get rid of red triangle in eris htc
,
htc droid eris red triangle fix
,
htc quick root red triangle
,
htc root red triangle
,
my droid eris has a triangle
,
my droid eris has triangle
,
red triangle root htc thunderbolt
,
trying to reset my driod keep getting droid with red triangl
,

why does my htc phone get a red triangle