trying to root my droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SECRT AG3NT MAN, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright...so im tryin to root my phone with 2.1 ESE81update.zip changed it to update.zip and when i go to my phone and install /sdcard/update.zip it always gets aborded??any advice?i have already dont the sprecovry stuff
  2. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    make sure the file is update.zip and not update.zip.zip... sometimes windows will hide extensions and then you will add an extra .zip???
  3. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya i made sure its jus update.zip nothing else no space mnothin and its int he root of my sd card so when i mount its there not in a folder
  4. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    did you hit "allow install from sd" first?
  5. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    theres only allow update.zip installation i click that than the other one
  6. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you copy exactly what is happening?
  7. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thts what im going off of lol.i click install iget this message.
    --install from sdcard...
    finding update...
    opening update...
    verifying update...
    E:cant open /sdcard/update.zip
    (no such file or directory)
    installation aboded
  9. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    That means the file isn't in your root.. double check the file and also make sure you can open it. But, its saying "no such file or directory" so I would put a new update.zip file in there and try again.
  10. reebz
    Offline

    reebz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fresno, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever I update ROMs or themes or kernels, I just rename the file to update, not update.zip and it installs every time.
  11. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    see its saying tht but this is how it is set up when i mount my phone
  12. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    You added a .zip to the file. Rename the file to update and then move it to your sdcard.
  13. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you flashed SPRecovery, or are you using stock recovery.
  14. SECRT AG3NT MAN
    Offline

    SECRT AG3NT MAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hahaha there we go
  15. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah its a common problem with people that are rooting for their first time! Always remember windows hides the extension from the name.