Trying to root a Droid 1 with Android 2.2.1

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by brooklyn2710, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,344
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +275
    The only way to brick a Droid is flashing a bad SBF or losing power during the flash.

    I think that the thousands of people that have SBF'd to gain root would tend to disagree with you.
     
  2. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    i rooted my phone via sbf, but ive also used almost every other method and they have both gotten me running a custom rom. either way its the same thing, one's just easier and involves less input in the users end, reducing the risk for any problems to occur.
     
  3. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyway back to the OP, no need to get off topic anymore.
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,344
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +275
    To each his/her own I suppose.

    The understanding of what is happening in MotoCache's method is what drives me to send people there.

    The "one click root" solutions "seem" to be much more likely to end up in RS, after using ROM Mangler.
     
  5. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh and with sprecovery i had to boot into recovery 20+ times for it to mount /system. manually mounting didn't work either... the only recovery that works fine for me is clockworkmod 3.xxxx
     
  6. DaSnOoTeRKiNG

    DaSnOoTeRKiNG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I actually tried this method first with no avail. Couldn't adb cuz it said don't have permission..... so I used soc and bam ROOTED
     
  7. sacnotsack

    sacnotsack Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    yuma, az
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed. I prefer reverting to an older version of android via RSD LITE than using one click root solutions. You learn alot more that way. Its how I first rooted my OG Droid around June or July.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App