Trying to install Busybox, having trouble with ADB

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by authority11, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. authority11
    Offline

    authority11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am trying to install Busybox. When I input the portion of the code that involves doing "adb push" etc etc, it says:

    "adb: not found"

    I don't understand why it's doing this. Anybody have any ideas?
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    What are you trying to install it for? When I installed Smokeless Glass 5.0 it came along for the ride. I've never used ADB either. Like most things computer related there are multiple ways of doing things.

    If you want post the link to the directions you are using and what step you are stuck at and someone will come along to help or point you to alternative instructions.
  3. authority11
    Offline

    authority11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well basically I'm trying to install it because I sorta lost root when I upgraded to Bugless Beast 1.1. When I say I lost root, I didn't really lose root but mean I lost busybox somehow because Titanium Backup won't work for me on 1.1. However, all my other rooted things do work, (wifi tether etc). So, because of this I'm trying to reinstall Busybox. But I keep encountering this problem.
  4. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    If you had busybox before it may still be there it just needs it's permissions changed. If you have Astro look in /system/bin or /system/xbin. If you see it in there then open Terminal Emulator and type this

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 755 /system/bin/busybox or chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
  5. authority11
    Offline

    authority11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, perfect. This worked! Although for some reason I couldn't find the /system directory when I went into Astro. Weird. Thanks!
  6. ska8r411
    Offline

    ska8r411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami1683's Attic
    holy crap this also worked for me!
Search tags for this page

busybox adb

,

busybox won't install

,
having trouble installing busybox through adb shell
,

how to install busybox adb

,

how to install busybox using adb

,
how to install busybox with adb
,
install busy box using adb
,
install busybox android adb
,
install busybox android adb no
,

install busybox from adb

,

install busybox using adb

,

install busybox via adb

,
install busybox via pc in android
,
install+busybox+1.18.2+tar+using adb
,
manually install busybox android