1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Trying to figure this out!!!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by GoIowa18, Mar 8, 2010.

1. GoIowa18

GoIowa18 New Member

Ok, so I am a total noob to all of this... I am semi tech savvy and can follow directions well, so I'm not really worried about doing the actual rooting and flashing and whatnot...

My question is that I've been reading for a couple days on what everyone is doing, and there are so many options... not only different procedures and programs people are using to root/flash their phone, but different ROMs and things... I'm confused as to which way to go.

I've seen that obviously the rooting is where to start. Then I see people going to 2.1 and bugless beast a lot. Is that something that you do both of, or one or the other?

Sorry to be asking the same question I'm sure 100 other noobs have, but I haven't really found a thread that has answered my questions completely... mostly just threads on how to complete these tasks... but none really on what to install to come up with the best end result. I guess I just dont understand the difference between the OS version, the ROM, the kernel, and all of that.

If anyone can give me suggestions, or even just point me to a good thread about it and lock this one and call me a stupid noob, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks in advance
  2. hookbill

hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

Droidmod. You can't go wrong, it does the rooting for you. Then if you want to try other ROMs, that's up to you. www.droimod.org. Download DMupdater.
  3. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

Yes this is hard to keep current. It seems that every day a developer releases a new rom. Here is a link to a blog (Droid-Does.Blogspot.Com) that has lots of information. Look on the side for Matt's rooting process. It is a very detailed description.

Mike
  4. GoIowa18