Trying to apply Purity, won't reboot recovery.

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Brick, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    ...before you do anything else I would go back into bootstrap and bootstrap recovery again, maybe two or three times in a row and then try to boot into recovery
     
  2. Brick

    Brick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It says "Success!" each time i do it. When I initially set up the backup through this program, when I clicked Bootstrap Recovery I had to allow the program first through a window that popped up before it said "Success!" but now it just goes straight to "Success!" and when I click Reboot Recovery, nothing happens still.

    Also this is how I went about rooting my phone and setting up the backup.
    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/0...covery-backup-and-de-bloat-your-droid-bionic/ . I followed those steps up until De-bloat.
     
    #14 Brick, Nov 13, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  3. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    So you have been in recovery via bootstrapper before - try uninstalling the bionic bootstrapper application and reinstalling it
     
  4. Brick

    Brick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    #16 Brick, Nov 13, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It won't mess with your backup, that is stored on your SD card and unless you format the card it will remain untouched during any factory reset or community hacks you apply
     
  6. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    When you apply the bootstrap do you get a small popup on the bottom of your screen explaining that Bionic Bootstrapper has been granted Superuser Permissions ?
     
  7. Brick

    Brick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I didnt see anything like that pop up. After I downloaded it, I hit install and nothing different happened when I tried the reboot.
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Every time I hit it on mine I get a superuser access granted pop up, I would begin to wonder if you are truly rooted or not - what other root apps do you have installed ?
     
  9. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I have a question, do you have an app called terminal emulator. If so open that up and type "su" then enter. The $ sign should change to a # sign. If it does then your root is working. If it doesn't then your root is not working. If you don't have the app you can download it from the market.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. Brick

    Brick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I typed "su" and enter and it said
    Permission denied
    app_149@cdma_targa:/$
     
  11. rck76

    rck76 Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Yeah, I think you lost root somewhere along the way. You will have to re-root.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  12. Brick

    Brick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And by reroot do I follow the link that was posted on the first page? If so which step? Or do I open back up Pete's Motorola Root Tools and just click root my phone again?