Tryin' to Root!!!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by BoomerFZ1, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man I just got my Droid and coming from the iPhone, the sluggishness is drivin' me a bit bonkers. So I'm tryin' to Root and overclock but alldroid.com isn't up. Anyone know an alternate download site to get the necessary software?

    Thanks!
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    rootyourdroid.info
  3. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    please see my sig.

    -=Jason=-
  4. CoyG
    Offline

    CoyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    droidmod.org for the quickest and easiest way.
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Ha!! True I forgot all about the DMUpdater app! And DroidMod.org is in my signature lol
  6. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to droidmod.org in the browser -- download the link for dmupdater (it will say on the home page if you are on your phone use this link). Install and follow the instructions. Franky it cant be any easier than this!!
  7. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow fellas.....thanks. Gotta say y'all are the most responsive folks in any forum I've been in. It's goin'!!!
  8. cas1834
    Offline

    cas1834 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Cod
  9. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SHOOT!!! Probably should have asked this...can ya unroot? I mean what if I don't dig it and want to go back to factory restore?
  10. cas1834
    Offline

    cas1834 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Oh yeah...forgot to also say that, after you are rooted, it gives you the choice to reflash with the droidmod rom or go back to stock without root. Been there, done that...and it's all as easy as falling off a log:greendroid:
  11. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh...whew. I'm diggin' it so far. I did get rid of the default icons you do while rooting and I'd like to get a couple of those back but I'll wrestle with that. Totally sure this'll be like the first of many "roots"! Thanks again all!!!
  12. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay...when I select THAT menu option, it takes me back to the rooted mode. I can't seem to get it back to factory reset....what up?
  13. BoomerFZ1
    Offline

    BoomerFZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GOT IT! I'm good. Thanks everyone!
  14. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    I hope you remember to use AUTODETECT when you install setcpu for overclocking. If you select Droid it will only let you run 600mhz. I'm at 1Ghz and the DM will let you go as high as 1.2Ghz! woot woot!
  15. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend you try Chevy's new ERE 2.1 build with OC if you want like iPhone smoothness, I have the aHome installed with iPhone theme, looks like an iPhone, and so fast, ERE is by far the smoothest yet :)
  16. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That poor Droid.
  17. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was sayin to help ease him from iPhone lol
  18. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    I second this........ I used droidmod and was stunned at how easy and automated it was.........
  19. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    maybe a stupid question, and i apologize in advance...but this can all be done (rooting, overclocking) from the phone? or is a computer needed?

    i'm at work and bored out of my mind so i'm considering doing it lol
  20. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    yes visit droidmod.org via your phone
    scroll down to the DMUPDATER link and click it to download the update.zip to your sdcard

    -=Jason=-