Trusted Devices on Lollipop

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by PereDroid, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,521
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    There was a lot of confusion about how to set this up on our phones.
    Here's a post to try and head off a bunch of posts about it.
    • Make sure you already have a screen lock setup. You wouldn't believe how many people tried to set this up without that on first. You can't set up Trusted Devices if you have no screen lock.
    • Go to SETTINGS > SECURITY. Scroll way down under ADVANCED. Click TRUST AGENTS. Turn on SMART LOCK (GOOGLE)
    • Now the SMART LOCK setting will light up under that same SECURITY section. Go there to Configure Trusted Devices and/or Places.

     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    7,080
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,589
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Good stuff Pere. If the Turbo version is like the Moto X 2014 (I upgraded the wife's phone to 5.1 last night) once that is enabled, as you add new Blue Tooth devices there will be a notification you can select to add it as a TD if you want to.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,521
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Digging Trusted Places.

    TapaTurbo
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,531
    Likes Received:
    7,089
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,436
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Does places work with GPS, or wifi? It's been a while since I messed with it.
     
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    7,080
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,589
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I'm not sure about WiFi, will have to look into that, but I know it works pretty good by GPS. I have my wife's phone to stay unlocked when at our house. When she gets about 50 - 60 feet away from our house, the screen lock kicks in. She is happy with it!

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,521
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    He was asking which it uses, Sajo, not can you use both?
    It's GPS. There's no way to tell it to use WiFi instead.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    7,080
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,589
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    My bad. Thanks.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,531
    Likes Received:
    7,089
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,436
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Ok. That's what I thought I remembered. I should really set this up again. Can't remember why I stopped using it, but I think it was a random day when I wasn't wearing my watch and was out and about. Small price to pay for some peace of mind.

    Do you find that it works well when transitioning between places and devices? Ie, if I set it to trust my watch and my house, if I get home and it's been trusting the watch all day and then I decide to turn my watch off because I'm not going to wear it, will it require the PIN on the first unlock until it realizes I'm home, or is it seamless? Or do you know?
     
  9. PereDroid

    PereDroid DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,521
    Likes Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3,901
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Turbo 2
    Not really sure yet, but leaving the house / job seems to work real well as I noticed when my BT off yesterday and today. Not real sure though because I am usually near trusted devices. Watch, 2 cars....

    TapaTurbo
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Beer

    Beer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +41
    Dangit, I've got some security certificates and other controls on my phone that won't allow me to take advantage of this.
     
  11. TDL1068

    TDL1068 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +95
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I'm a late adopter of lollipop, but have a question regarding this topic. I started playing with with trusted devices, set up a pin screen lock, set up smart lock and set my home as a trusted place. All was good. I decided to go back and change the screen lock back to swipe to unlock, but can't. The option of 'none' and 'swipe' are no longer available (greyed out). Does anyone know how to allow swipe to unlock again?
     
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    7,080
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,589
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Do you have a corporate email account on your phone, or any other app that requires a screen lock? I currently have a Pattern lock screen, with several trusted devices and have all of the options available: None, Patter, PIN, etc. Some apps and corporate email accounts require a lock screen at all times.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Search tags for this page
android lollipop trusted wifi
,
droid lollipop and trust agents
,
lollipop trusted device
,

motorola droid turbo security screen lock trusted devices

,

motorola turbo droid trusted device setting

,
setting trusted deice on moto turbo
,
trust agent greyed out on android