true newbie question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by russelltw, Jan 21, 2010.

1. russelltw

russelltw New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Board,

I am NOT a programmer by any stretch of the imagination, but would like know what is used to create apps for the android system.

What do you typically use to create and test your app? Are most of you programmers by trade or is this more of a side hobby.

Thanks in advance for entertaining a newbie...
    Russelltw

2. NaterGator

NaterGator Member

Ratings:
    +0
    The Android SDK is all you technically need. It allows you to run your code on an emulated environment. Eclipse is the suggested IDE, but really any text editor is technically sufficient (and many of the hard-core programmers prefer low-key simple editors like emacs, notepad, nano, etc).

I won't speak for most but I am a programmer by hobby, electrical engineer by study :D

3. russelltw

russelltw New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    natergator,

thanks for the reply. What code do you typically program with?

My background is chemical engineering, so I had a little programming in college (some time ago) and with an engineer's mind set, you have to understand everything down to it's most basic level.

Thanks
    Russelltw

4. justbob

justbob Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I have been playing around with the SDK as well and have discovered that Eclipse is almost a necessity. There's a whole lot it does for you behind the scenes. I'm particularly impressed with the way it can automatically package your code as an .apk and install it on the emulator or dev phone for you. Very nice.

5. NaterGator

NaterGator Member

Ratings:
    +0