Troubleshooting Help - Unable to Successfully Install 0.4

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by ninegoodthings, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking for some help here as I'm new to the Droid ROM scene.

    I've heard nothing but great things about BB, and have wanted to get 0.4 installed, but am having issues that I honestly don't know how to troubleshoot.

    This has been my process since I decided to get into ROMs -

    1) Original at 2.1-update1
    2) Installed RSD and flashed SDRecovery
    3) Updated to rooted 2.1
    4) Tried to update to BB 0.4, failed

    5) Spent a lot of time trying to flash random ROMs, had some success but never with BB

    6) Used RSD to flash back to 2.0.1 stock
    7) Updated to 2.0.1 root
    8) Installed ROM Manager
    9) Tried to update to BB 0.4, failed

    When the update fails, my screen sits indefinitely (as far as I can tell, at least 20+ mins) at the Motorola logo, never getting to the Droid eye.

    Any help on what I can do to try to get past this?
     
  2. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    One question, did you wipe?
     
  3. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 0.4 post told me to do so, and I did.

    Pretty much wiped between each of the steps I lay out above.
     
  4. DrJay

    DrJay Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always wipe (factory reset) 3 times consecutively before loading any rom.
    Did you ever try BBv1.1?
    Maybe try re-downloading the rom as you may have a damaged file
    Just some ideas:greendroid:
     
  5. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying three wipes now.

    Just so I know - when booting takes longer than normal for the first time, what screen should I expect to be waiting on?

    I've heard people say it takes up to five minutes, but is that on the M logo, or the Eye screen?
     
  6. Hogmeister

    Hogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i recall correctly its on the eye screen, might be a bit longer M logo as well but i'm pretty sure my experience has been on the boot anim more often than not
     
  7. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried three wipes with no success.

    Am going to go back and try BB 1.1, but I believe pete's links for the kernels are now dead...
     
  8. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, it looks like v1.1 works fine.

    Don't know what the issue could be. Standard 2.2+root works fine, as does Cyanogen 6.0.
     
  9. Apollo

    Apollo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using ClockworkMod or SPRecovery?
     
  10. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using both... ClockworkMOD for putting everything ONTO the phone, and SPRecovery for restoring my 2.0.1+root backup (because I can't get ClockWorkMOD to do backup/restores correctly).

    Great question, though. I'll try completely cutting out ClockworkMOD and see if that helps.
     
  11. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, that sort of got me somewhere.

    After updating and rebooting, the phone sits at the M logo for 5 seconds, then reboots to the SPRecovery.
     
  12. DrJay

    DrJay Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I download directly to my SD card then use root explorer to MOVE/RENAME to update.zip then boot to spr and then wipe 3times then flash. Maybe it's related to the cpu clock speed in v04, I don't remember what clock the v1.1 defaulted to.
    I know v04 defaults to 800mhz. May be to high for your device?
    ,:greendroid:
     
  13. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried flashing on P3's 250-600 SV kernel for 2.2 with no success. Exact same behavior.

    That's about as conservative as I can get for a kernel, right?
     
  14. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So... I've just decided to use Pete's 2.2+root for now.

    Installed P3's 125-1250LV kernel and it's kicking ass, so that's clearly not the problem.

    Really wanted to try BB, but I guess there's something freaky with my phone.

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  15. ninegoodthings

    ninegoodthings New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK - so there's an update.

    I'm now reliably able to install BB and get to the Droid X eye loading screen, where the animation runs but does not finish.

    I'm trying to sub in various kernels to get one that may work better, but even the kernels that were stable on Pete's 2.2+root Froyo are not able to get me past the eye screen.

    It glares at me, taunting me.

    I've let it load for up to 1/2 hr, so I don't believe that it's grinding away the whole time.

    Now that I have an entirely different issue, can anyone help me get past this point?

    EDIT: Actually, I should note that I was able to get past the eye screen once. I got into BB, and it was extremely unstable/buggy (home, volume rocker, menu key all just flipped the screen to blank).