Trouble with wi fi

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dolfanpete, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't figure out why i cant Connect to wi fi. It says that it is connected to my network but isn't go to any websites. I've rebooted the phone Sao have reset modem and router..

    Any advice is appreciated!!!!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Are you rooted?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  3. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes with lfy 1.95

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Have you tried a different kernel?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  5. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A different version or setting?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Well, what kernel are you currently using (on the app so I can't see/read sigs)? And have you had the issue the whole time you've been using that kernel?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  7. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Slayer 2.6.32.9 kernel. And no it seems to have just statrted happening

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    That's odd. Reboot doesn't help? Try making a backup and flashing a different type (Chevy, Sapphire, etc).



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  9. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I just download one of those? And is it hard to flash recovery?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    You don't have a recovery? Kernels are flashed the same way ROMs are but without wiping.

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  11. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol not sure if I do. I kind of lucked my way into rooting it without any issues. So all the terminology I don't understand like flashing to recovery. What is that?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    To get in to recovery mode. Power down your phone and then press and hold the x key on the keyboard that should bring you to either Clockwork recovery or SPrecovery it depends on which one you have installed.

    From this point it is a good time to switch to a pc so we can continue to communicate.

    After booting into recovery there will be a option to backup/restore. You have to use the volume rocker to select the option and the camera button acts as an enter button. Pressing the power button once will back you out of the current menu option.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1! Blue letters = SPRecovery; green = CW.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  14. dolfanpete

    dolfanpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too afraid to mess things up. Ohwell

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  15. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    That's what a backup and we are for buddy! :)



    DroidForums junkie!!