Trouble with google maps after upgrade to 2.1

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by droid507, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. droid507

    droid507 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So since I did the manual upgrade to 2.1, my GPS is acting up. Prior to my upgrade, I always had a great signal and would instantly get satellite lock and get my navigation directions. However, ever since the upgrade, when trying to navigate, google maps continues to say "searching for GPS". If it does lock, it's a long time of searching.

    anyone else having this issue. Is there a fix? Google navigation was was the main reason I loved my droid.

    Can anyone help?

    thanks
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    4,497
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,508
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Did you try navigating from maps, or navigation in car home? I took the ota and just opened maps, and it pulled my location up right away...
     
  3. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that problem after an update once. Unloaded and reinstalled Maps. Problem solved.
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    4,497
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,508
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I believe that the latest version of maps is built-in to the official 2.1 update, and can't be uninstalled/reinstalled...
     
  5. Zindrix

    Zindrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had trouble with this earlier in the day as well. I used it in the morning and it worked fine, but later on when I tried to use it it couldn't get a signal. I did however try my mother's Garmin Nuivi GPS and it also had trouble finding satellites. I'm not sure what is up, maybe it's the satellites or maybe it's the solar flare nonsense they said were going to interfere with GPS this year...
     
  6. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't believe that is true. Some of the ROM builders have included it as a system app but it can still be removed through settings.
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    4,497
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,508
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I was under the impression that the op was on stock 2.1, but maybe I was mistaken.
    If you ARE running stock, you can uninstall updates in settings/applications/manage applications.

    That MIGHT fix the issue if you uninstall the updates and then reinstall, but idk. I just applied the maps live wallpaper and it's finding me pretty good although that uses cell towers instead of gps...
     
  8. droid507

    droid507 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!

    Yes I am running stock and I used your recommendations and it did the trick. It's working back to normal.
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    4,497
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,508
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Glad to hear!
     
  10. Threepio

    Threepio Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    not working for me, before i upgraded to 2.1 my google maps used to show my exact location. Now i get a blue circle, that shows my location acurate withing 1200 meters......wtf. i tried uninstalling and reinstalling updates but no luck.
     
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13,183
    Likes Received:
    4,497
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +5,508
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Do you have gps enabled and are you outside with a clear view of the sky? Those are simple things, but big factors in the accuracy of the app.
     
  12. Threepio

    Threepio Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea i realized that after a little playing. Thanks!
     
Search tags for this page

always searching for gps on navigation

,

searching for satellite issue galaxy s4