trouble wiith factory recovery when trying to root

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rvasquez1989, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. rvasquez1989

    rvasquez1989 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys i was trying to do update.zip on my droid, but i keep getting a " E:/ couldnt open cache/recovery or something like that.. like it cant open recovery or something. without this i cant root..... any help would be appreciated.... i did this on my friends phone with no problems... btw, this droid im workin on is stock 2.01. thanks in advance...
     
  2. rvasquez1989

    rvasquez1989 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump. Sorry to bump my own thread, but I need an answer. It would be most appreciated
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  4. th3transition

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the same problem. followed matth3w's guide, didnt rename the file to update.zip.zip or anything. when i go to the recovery screen and hit "apply sdcard:update.zip" i get E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  6. Pokebreaker

    Pokebreaker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, that sounds like a similar problem I had. The update.zip that is created after merging the two files seems to only work once per creation. I used it on my phone, then tried it on my Wife's and I just got an error. So I did the merge process again, then it worked.

    EDIT: Oh, I used a different guide though. So my part very well may not apply to this situation.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  7. th3transition

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so since i already updated my phone i cant root it unless i revert to 2.0.1 ?
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes that is correct.
    Mike
     
  9. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
  10. th3transition

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i can use that to get the phone rooted then follow the guide to install BB?
     
  11. jasonb

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup.

    flash the sprecovery .sbf and then pick a rom and install it. done!
     
  12. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry. I think I pretty much spelled it out for you.

    E