1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

trouble wiith factory recovery when trying to root

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rvasquez1989, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. rvasquez1989
    Offline

    rvasquez1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey guys i was trying to do update.zip on my droid, but i keep getting a " E:/ couldnt open cache/recovery or something like that.. like it cant open recovery or something. without this i cant root..... any help would be appreciated.... i did this on my friends phone with no problems... btw, this droid im workin on is stock 2.01. thanks in advance...
  2. rvasquez1989
    Offline

    rvasquez1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump. Sorry to bump my own thread, but I need an answer. It would be most appreciated
  3. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  4. th3transition
    Offline

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the same problem. followed matth3w's guide, didnt rename the file to update.zip.zip or anything. when i go to the recovery screen and hit "apply sdcard:update.zip" i get E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  6. Pokebreaker
    Offline

    Pokebreaker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, that sounds like a similar problem I had. The update.zip that is created after merging the two files seems to only work once per creation. I used it on my phone, then tried it on my Wife's and I just got an error. So I did the merge process again, then it worked.

    EDIT: Oh, I used a different guide though. So my part very well may not apply to this situation.
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  7. th3transition
    Offline

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so since i already updated my phone i cant root it unless i revert to 2.0.1 ?
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Yes that is correct.
    Mike
  9. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. th3transition
    Offline

    th3transition New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i can use that to get the phone rooted then follow the guide to install BB?
  11. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup.

    flash the sprecovery .sbf and then pick a rom and install it. done!
  12. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry. I think I pretty much spelled it out for you.

    E