Trouble synching Exchange contacts from work to phone

01chevy

Reaction score
Hi Everyone:
I just signed up for this forum and I'm new to the DroidX2, so please go easy on me. :)

Here's the deal: I just got this new DX2 for work on Monday and, by Friday, leave it to me to get a new toy and "break" it! :frown:
Reading thru the forum posts throughout the week, I taught myself how to root this guy, and was even able to flash Eclipse v2.0.1. so I thought I was catching on pretty well...'til Friday night.

While I was uninstalling all the bloatware, I accidentally removed the "contacts sync" and "contacts storage" apps. Needless to say, the process com.motorola.contacts is fc'ing now. (At least I know what I did if that helps).

I thought I could restore the deleted files simply by going into android recovery and doing an "erase data/factory reset", but that didn't bring back com.motorola.contacts.

However, the phone does continue to boot up normally into the Eclipse ROM and goes to the home screen w/o issue. I tried re-installing my corporate account settings again, but the second the settings are validated and the work contacts syncing begins, I get the force close message again.

From reading some of the other posts, I hearing some people say to:

1. flash a stock recovery image (not sure how to do this -- if someone would be so kind as to provide some instructions, I'll do my best to follow them)
2. install a "Yahoo Mail Authenticator" (not sure if this applies to me since I don't have a Yahoo account but, pardon my "newbiness"...enlighten me please.
3. install some sort of system image file
4. install some .apk file(s) from somewhere

Unfortunately, I don't have a backup file to fall back on yet as I just finished flashing the ROM, and was planning on using ROM Manager/Toolbox to do this (until this contacts issue happened)