1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Trouble Mounting as USB / Syncing with iTunes

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by Impunity, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. Impunity
    Offline

    Impunity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all,

    Brand new to the forum and the world of smart phones here, just wanted to first give my thanks to the admins and folks that provide such detailed help.

    I'd like to give a run-down of the issue I'm having with syncing my Droid Incredible to iTunes. I found the following article on knowyourcell.com:

    How to sync the HTC DROID Incredible with iTunes - Know Your Cell

    I'm running Windows XP and was able to install iTunes Agent with no problem at all. I plugged my phone into a USB port on my computer and was prompted with the option to mount as a drive. I did this, and it successfully added itself as F: Verizon Mobile. In this drive there are the following sub-folders / files:

    • drv
    • img
    • TL-Bootstrap
    • autorun (setup info txt file)
    • tibs (config setting txt file)

    Now, that "how-to" says to create a folder called "Music" on the mounted Droid. When I tried to do this I got an "Unable, access denied" type message. I tried manually dragging mp3 files into the F: Verizon Mobile drive with the same results.

    What am I missing here? The guide on knowyourcell.com seemed so simplistic and I'm now roadblocked because I cannot manipulate my mounted Droid Incredible. My goal is to simply grab a few songs and get them into the stock Music application so I can clip them and make a few ringtones. The stock ringtones on this phone are utterly horrible (and it didn't even come with the "DROID!" sound byte).

    Any help / hints would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you trying to do this on the internal memory of the device or the sdcard?

    Sounds like you are trying to place the files on the internal 8gb of ram. Which you can't do.
  3. Impunity
    Offline

    Impunity New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    edit: Nevermind! I realized that when you mount the phone there are actually two drives that activate...the phone's internal storage (which you clearly cannot manipulate) and the SD card.

    I should be OK now, when I go home tonight I'll give her another try.
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010
  4. DisneyRicky
    Offline

    DisneyRicky New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    If you are a Mac or have a bluetooth enabled computer, you can follow this guide for where to place music and other files.
  5. loonyhiker
    Offline

    loonyhiker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    When I plug my phone into my laptop, it shows 3 new drives (F, G, and H). I'm not sure what F and G are and which one is my 4G sd card that Ihave installed. I have moved my music files from my itunes library on to both the F and the G. But when I go to my phone, how do I open those files?
  6. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    instead of jumping through all those hoops, just use your SD card as a drive and drag and drop the files with the music to a floder labeled music. I have hundreds of songs on my inc done just this way and all work perfect

    Chris
  7. loonyhiker
    Offline

    loonyhiker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks! I will try that. Do is my sd car the F or G drive?
  8. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Don't know till you get it hooked up. I actually named mine Dinc aND Dincsd so I could tell which was which easier.

    Chris
  9. loonyhiker
    Offline

    loonyhiker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks! I found it! It seems to work if it is on the F drive. I have no idea how to access the stuff on the G drive though so I will just move things to the F drive as I get space. (I have tons of music and podcasts!)
Search tags for this page
tl bootstrap software
,

tl bootstrap.exe error

,
tl-bootstrap.exe error winxp htc rezound
,

unable to install tl-bootstrap