trouble connecting to Google

whitehound

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
HTC Desire A8181
Hi. I'm new to Android and still trying to figure it out. I have an HTC Desire A8181 which I suppose means it has Android 2.1.

I'm trying to get hold of the QR Droid app so that I can read QR codes. When I try to get it from the Amazon store I'm told that I first need an Amazon store app, and when I try to get that I'm told that the Amazon store app isn't compatible with versions of Android earlier than 2.3-something.

So I tried to get it through GooglePlay but GooglePlay says my browser isn't supported, then that I need a special GooglePlay app. When I try to sign in to my Google account to get onto GooglePlay I get halfway through filling in the form and it asks me for my Google email. My Google email is [email protected] but Google's form insists on filling it in as [email protected] and then can't find it, and if I just put whitehounduk it says that name is already taken - which of course it is, by me.

Can anyone help me to get QR Droid and/or to get my phone to connect to my Google account?

And/or, is it possible to get a more updated version of Android onto the A8181, and if so how do I go about it? I know that there are ways of updating which involve linking the phone to a PC but unfortunately my PC has a bug which means that it can't see anything with an SD card in it, including my phone. [This is a well-known Windows 7 bug which no-one seems to have a fix for.]

Last edited:

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
Well other than borrowing someone else's computer for this process I don't see how you can get the device updated. Here's a link to the various versions of Gingerbread, the most recent version of Android directly from HTC (you'll need to identify what region and carrier you are on so you can download the right version for your phone)... HTCdev - HTC Kernel Source Code and Binaries