Tried upgradeing my Titanium Backup to Pro & now it says I don't have root?!?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Jer, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    I don't understand what the problem is. I've used Titanium Backup for a year and a half now w/o a single problem. Today I decide to buy the Pro version so I go to the market and click to buy it. I wait for it to download and install and them I launch the regular version again (this is what I did on my wife's phone and it worked) and when I do I get an error that says the device isn't rooted. I'm running MikFroyo v4.1 so I know it is. I click the problems button and it says I need to install a clean version of Busy Box so I do this. Doesn't fix it. I then click the button to update the Superuser and it does this... nothing still. What is going on here? Makes me not want to buy a pro app that's for sure.
  2. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    I would just uninstall the app and reinstall it. Maybe run a fix permissions if the uninstall reinstall doesn't fix it.
  3. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Thanks for posting. Before posting here I uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled & rebooted. No dice. How do I run a fix permissions?
  4. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Hmm.....that I don't really know. I know in Liberty it's in the toolbox, Droid 2 Overclock has it in extra's....but I don't know where your ROM would have it or if there is an app for you.

    Sorry....don't know enough about Evo's to help.
  5. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Hmm.. I'm leaning towards the fact that I may have lost root access. Can I simply run Unrevoke3 again to root it and leave my ROM and theme intact or do I have to start all over again?

    Another thing I noticed is the my backups are much fewer than what I had expected.I made one backup after rooting and clearing the data/cache so I would have a stock ROM to flash if I ever needed too. Then I flashed MikFroyo and backed it up. I then flashed a green theme and backed it up. Lastly I decided I liked the blue theme better, flashed that (w/o wiping which is probably where I lost root) and then made a backup of what would likely be my final setup to revert back to. I then used ES File Explorer to navigate to my Backups folder to rename them so I would know what was what. Much to my surprise there are two of them and I'm not sure which is which. I expected to see twice as many backups so I'm not sure what's going on there but I hope one is a stock ROM.
  6. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Install root checker from the market and find out if you have root.
  7. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Yep, looks like I lost root somehow.

    "Detailed Results:
    Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted.

    Standard su binary Location:
    lrwxrwxrwx root root 2011-04-30
    00:02 su -> /system/bin/su

    Alternate su binary location:
    /sbin/su: Permission denied

    SU binary not found in the system declared PATH"

    I tried to type what was on my screen. So, does this indicate anything unusual to worry about or just lost root access? Can I just run Unrevoked3 again to gain root access w/o changing my ROM/theme or do I have to start completely over again?
  8. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Yeah looks like you lost root. I would try the unrevoked again and if it doesn't work SBF and start over.
  9. Jer
    Offline

    Jer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    I decided to just take a chance in the dark and it worked fine. It took a couple tries and I had to take my USB type from charge only to mount as disk drivebut oince I did that it worked just as easy as it did the first time.
Search tags for this page

free upgrade to titanium backup pro

,
how to upgrade to titanium backup pro
,
root access is not properly configured
,
titanium back denied root access without prompt
,

titanium backup fix permissions

,

titanium backup key not working

,
titanium backup pro key not recognise
,

titanium backup pro key not working

,
titanium backup pro say i don't have root but i do