Tried to SBF from GB .591 back to Froyo

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by BackSeatSuicide, May 25, 2011.

  1. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So i posted this is another sub-forum, but haven't gotten any replies yet, so maybe someone will see it here. I SBF'd my phone, and it said it was complete, but for some reason it was still showing the bootlogo for ZombieStomped and not the stock Moto Boot Logo like it should after SBF'ing, and now my phone is just sitting at the boot screen. And at first it woudn't go into stock recovery when i would hit the search button at the screen with the exclamation point, but i figured out that i have to hit the power button instead of the search button for some reason, but i got into recovery, then i wiped data and wiped cached, then rebooted the phone, which should work, but after i restarted, it just went back to the same bootlogo for the ZombieStomped, and then just continued to sit there doing nothing. I am completely confused on whats happening here. So I'm trying to SBF once again hoping it will work this time. But like i said, after SBF'ing, it should not be showing the boot logo for the custom ROM i had installed. which i just looked at my phone, and it finished the SBF process, and it again is showing the ZombieStomped logo. theres is something majorly wrong here. I am so stuck and dont know what to do. And a job is supposed to be calling me to let me kno if i'm hired in a few hours, and so i need my phone fixed asap. Someone please help me ! nothing i am doing is working, and obviously the SBF process is not working even tho RSDlite is saying it is, cause its not showing the Moto boot logo like it should. And i just noticed in RSDlite where its supposed to show my Device, its saying "N/A" under most of the details, instead of showing the name of my phone and all that stuff. wtf is up with that

    here's what its showing in RSDlite under Device Details -


    IMEI/ESN/MEID: N / A
    Technology: N / A
    Software Version: N / A
    Flex Version: N / A
    Bootloader Version: v0x003004
    DRM Version: N / A
    AP Die ID: 0d5001142f9e3a0a0000d8ff0100
    BP Die ID: 0000000000000000b55432890485
    AP Public ID: 75acb5ee66c231146605fd44b76cd6e608101f5b
    BP Public ID: 040000000500000002000000ffff00002d003289

    I know my phone isn't bricked, cause as we all know, if it was bricked, it wouldn't even power on, but something is definitely messed up here, but there has to be some way to fix it. This is stressing me out, making my ulcer flare up which is giving me really bad heartburn and nausea, so please someone swoop in and give me some good news on how to fix this.
  2. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    And i would like to add, thats its been sitting at the ZombieStomped bootlogo for over 20min now, so i'm pretty sure its not just taking awhile to boot, its definitely stuck
  3. bobAbooey
    Offline

    bobAbooey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would google "linux sbf cd" and try that way of sbf'ing.
  4. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I'll try that, but just outta curiosity, whats the difference ?


    and does anyone have any other ideas, while I try to find a blank CD or DVD to burn the Linux SBF to ? And also, does anyone know why its saying N/A under most of the details in the Device Details section of RSDlite, like i posted ? isn't it supposed to say the Name of my Phone and all that, instead of just N/A ? cause I'm thinking maybe thats part of the problem, and it caused the phone not SBF properly, but SBF'd enough to where it deleted most of the files, so it wont let me boot into android, but not enough to where it still shows the ZombieStomped Boot Logo and didn't restore the Stock Froyo files
  5. bobAbooey
    Offline

    bobAbooey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had RDS lite fail a number of times. This boot cd has always worked. Hopefully someone with more knowledge can help you on the questions. Good luck.
  6. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    thanks, and also if someone can answer, why would i have to use the power button, instead of the search button like is standard, for booting into stock recovery ?

    srry i made mistake, its not the power button its making me use, I have to hit both volume keys at once, to get it to go to stock recovery from the screen with the lil android dude, and the exclamation point. and instead of hitting the camera button to select options from the stock recovery screen, i have to hit the power button. also i dont remember that screen having blue text, but i may be mistaken on that, its been awhile since i've had to go into stock recovery instead of CWM recovery.
  7. J_Bone
    Offline

    J_Bone New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of people have had issues with it. I trried using the USB sbf and it didn't work for me. Then I did the cd/dvd sbf and it work perfect. Just try the disc sbf and see what happens.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    guess thats what Imma have to do, its wierd tho, cause Like i said, I've used it on this phone a few times, as well as my D2G when i had it, and it worked fine then too, never have had issues with it. But whatever, waiting for my GF to get her to bring me a blank disc, since i'm apparently out (i think someone stole some from me cause last time i looked i had a **** ton of blank DVDs) and i will post my results *knock on wood*
  9. Boblank
    Offline

    Boblank New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could be wrong but it sounds like you used a system only sbf and not a full?
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    My details come up as n/a too. My phone shows up as s flash, but the sbf works (full sbf file, latest drivers and rsd lite 4.9 on win xp) all the best to you bro

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  11. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Mine did the same thing, and it was because I used the SHADOW system only file. Get the correct .sbf file and it should work.

    Sent from my DROIDX
  12. Antob125
    Offline

    Antob125 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On e you sbf power off your phone then hold power and home or power and menu button then select wipe factory settings option should be fine

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    thats the SBF i'm using too, which one is the correct one....link please ?
  14. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Fixed it, found the proper FULL sbf, and i'm finally booted into android ! woot woot ! that was friggin ridiculous !
  15. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    I had a similar experience till I found " the Linux solution"

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Nice! Glad you got it going.

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
  17. BackSeatSuicide
    Offline

    BackSeatSuicide New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That's what I was about to use, already burned it to a disc but then someone mentioned that I should use the full sbf file instead of the system only, which is the one I was using, which usually always worked for me, but apparently when going from GB back to Froyo, you need to use the full sbf instead. Which I wasn't even aware that there were two different ones. So at first, the full sbf I found was for the version before .340 but I didn't notice, so when I used it, my phone got stuck at the bootloader screen and had a list of errors across the top, the only I remember was "err: A5" but there were a couple others next to it. And then I noticed when looking at the sbf file that it wasn't the .340 version. So after sitting thru a bunch of broken links I finally round the correct one, but when I first ran it, my phone got stuck at the bootloader screen again except this time it was stuck displaying " SW Update In Progress" so I tried it one more time and then boom it finished and rebooted and the Motorola bootlogo finally appeared! And seriously, I don't think anyone has been so happy to see that lil moto bootlogo as I was at that moment hahaha. And so that was my 24hrs of trying to fix my phone. 8hrs of which I took a nap for cause I was just too frustrated lol. But it was a great learning experience and now I have both sbf files for when I need them and I kno what to do if this happens again. I am now running Liberty 2.0.1 and loving it. But prolly gonna go back to GB .591 in a few weeks or so. I just wanted to try out some more Froyo roms that I hadn't gotten the chance to. And liberty was one of them, and honestly, it shoulda been the first one I ever tried on my DX cause its amazing. But I am already kinda missing GB but like I said. There's still a few Froyo roms I want to try. Can't wait for a stable and full version of Liberty GB to come out. I am definitely just gonna stick with switching between Froyo roms and the GB leak, until (if and when) they find a way to root the official GB when it comes out *knock on wood*

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Yeah the shadow system only sbf was just a partial sbf file. If anyone is thinking of sbfing back to stock for the expected GB release this Friday you will need the full file.

    If you don't have it look for the full file on mydroidworld.com or if your using the DX, pm me and I can send it to you.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. dirtysanchez
    Offline

    dirtysanchez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    i got stuck last night after I tried to upgrade to .959 and this was the only way I could get the sbf too work. This guy has made a Linux for just flashing back to .340 and was the easiest way i found to use RSD

    Linux solution to your Windows/RSD lite problems

    srry for the redirect but this is the only place i found this version of Linux made for the X and flashing. Also u need to use an older PC to use this one had troubles using my gaming rig due to lack of driver support.