Tried to flash a rooted stock 2.2 w/ root ended up with 2.2 that doesn't have root

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Austinbwood, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. Austinbwood
    Offline

    Austinbwood New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, so I was hoping someone could help me. I've been playing with Rom Manager for a while and know my way around some of the problems around android and flashing new things but this time around I'm not sure what to do.

    I flashed a stock 2.2 rom over bb 0.5 and made sure to check the keep root option. once it booted up an error flashed up about gmail not working.
    I decided to flash back and restore from a ClockWork recovery, but I no longer have that option, when I hold down x, and do the vol up and camera button it gets me to the default boot menu. I thought that i should just reflash ClockWork back on, so I went to Rom Manager, went to reflash the new version and I get the error "An error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands!"


    So... I can't restore from a backup, because I can't get to the clockwork recovery program and I can't flash it on from Rom Manager due to what I believe is a SU permission problem. The thing is I have the icon for SU still.


    Any help? at this point I wouldn't mind just getting gmail back up and working. Both gmail and SU permissions won't uninstall.



    HELP?


    thanks.

    -Austin
  2. christo37
    Offline

    christo37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U need to put a update zip file to your droids SD card you can get this from rootzwiki or Droid life. Com both of them have the Droid listed

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. christo37
    Offline

    christo37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use RSd lite you can find from rootz wiki or Droid life.com please try to donate they are awesome

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. Austinbwood
    Offline

    Austinbwood New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Why do I have to use RSD lite?

    Is that the windows program from motorola?

    If so, is there any way around that? I have a Mac you see.

    -Austin
  5. christo37
    Offline

    christo37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes get from Droid life
    Com download to your windows computer the flash recovery u need will all be on the same page put your phone in bootloader mode u push up on d pad it is the easier way now if you want go to iTunes type in rooting for Droid or try rooting using rsdlite that is where I learned from
  6. christo37
    Offline

    christo37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The program works for both I believe
  7. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Wow, umm ok I don't know what that was.

    Try Z4root in the market. That will get your SU access back. Only way I know without a PC.
  8. Austinbwood
    Offline

    Austinbwood New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Perfect!

    Thanks so much sir!

    -Austin
  9. christo37
    Offline

    christo37 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you get root back

    Hello I was wondering if you got your phone rooted again
Search tags for this page
how to root wowpad
,
root access to wowpad
,
root wowpad
,
wowpad flash
,

wowpad update.zip