Tricks n' Tips!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by amishdude01, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. amishdude01

    amishdude01 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pittsburgh pa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone figured out any keyboard / on screen shortcuts / tricks?! Let's hear them!
     
  2. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This seems like an appropriate thread to ask the following questions. If there is a better place I should be asking them, I apologize.

    The Droid 4 is my first Droid. I've been figuring some stuff out, but a few things have me baffled:

    1) I don't seem able to edit the default "voicemail" entry to add pauses or a wait and then my security code, so that I can go right into my voicemail. On previous phones you could edit this entry. There must be a way to do this, right? I can't imagine I actually have to key in my security code every time I want to access voicemail, do I?

    2) Periodically my phone says "Droid" in a droid-voice. At fist I thought it was the ringtone for different things, but I changed the alert sound for incoming mail and incoming texts. Later I thought it might be a sound to let me know I had some sort of alert--a missed call or something. But it sometimes makes that sound and I have no missed calls, no new messages of any kind--nothing that I can see. Any idea why it is doing this?

    3) On previous phones I had icons for missed calls, unread e-mail, voicemail, etc. on my home screen. These would change color and/or have a number near them to indicate if I had any of these things, and how many, etc. How do I set the Droid up similarly, so that I can glance at my home screen and know if I have voicemail, missed calls, etc.

    Thanks in advance for trying to help a complete Droid neophyte.
     
  3. debdroid1a

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I can answer #3 and this might answer #2.

    On the very top of you're screen theres a little bar. Its called a notification bar. This tells you what notifications you have. Missed calls, text messages, etc. You take a finger and swipe it down to see what you have.
    See. Page 19 of your Master Your Device guide.

    And this may answer #2 as it will tell you what may be making the Droid sounds because you can see what your phone is doing.

    I cant answer #1 because I use google voice.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  4. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the answer, Debdroid.

    I checked that status area and there was a notification about the phone wanting me to enable a recommended "smart action", so perhaps that was the alert causing the "Droid" sound.

    I definitely need to take some time to read through the manual.

    Is there really no way, though, to see the status stuff, including the number of things, on the home screen without having to actually access that status bar? That would surprise me.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Reg. Your # 1: you have to edit the voice mail number in Contacts and/or in Settings > call options.
    What you do is this: *86,,yourpin#
    The commas signify a pause. Two of them works well for me.

    Actually, on re-reading your post. To edit the voice mail number in contacts, long press the entry BEFORE you open it. If that does not work you'll have to edit the entry in settings too, I guess.
    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012
  6. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to change the # of screens or will there always be 5?

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  7. debdroid1a

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can download an app. Most are called Launcher. I think i had AWD Launcher or something like that.

    ETA found a link with suggestions.


    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  8. debdroid1a

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
  9. debdroid1a

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I downloaded ADW Launcher since i didnt like the 5 screens. I now have 9. ;)

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  10. zertsman

    zertsman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think putting a ; in your number folowed by say an extension.. will wait for you to pres ok then it will send the numbers.
     
  11. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was able to edit the number in Settings/Call options, but not in contacts. Doing so results in the following:

    If I have a status bar alert, and call voicemail from that alert, my pin is entered correctly. However, if I simply use the icon on the homescreen to call voicemail, only *86 is entered. Any idea how to make that icon also enter my pin?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  12. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you delete the app icon, how would you get to the app drawer??
     
  13. tdpolo26

    tdpolo26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    amherst ny
    Ratings:
    +1
    you could put the app drawer icon anywhere but if you need to get it back in its slot long press and then select it
     
  14. daryls61

    daryls61 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    That I get but what if you deleted the app icon by dragging it up to the trash so there was no app icon anywhere, how would you get back into the app drawer? There has to be another way to het to all your apps beside the app icon but I have not figured it out yet.
     
  15. Fr33dom

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    ADW Launcher also has a companion app that will give you missed call counts and such on the icons.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 4 helpful hints
,
droid 4 keyboard shortcuts
,
droid 4 shortcuts
,
droid 4 tips
,

droid 4 tips and tricks

,

droid 4 tricks

,
motorola droid 4 tips and tricks
,
tips and tricks for droid 4
,
tips for droid 4
,
tricks on droid 4