1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Traveling Internationally

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by sandya, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. sandya
    Offline

    sandya New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi I was wondering if anyone has loaded an app in order to use maps or some sort of navigation internationally in europe. I am traveling and was wondering if I could use my phone as a gps or guide.
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  3. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  4. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Hello and welcome to the forum... I have left the country... but I never used an app.. it was back in 02 lol.. now they want me to leave the country again :blink: lol :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  5. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Not all phones, but the razr does have the ability to use gps without wifi or data connection. But if you don't pre-load the maps before, then like Sydman said, the gps needs the data connection to load the maps.... otherwise, even though the gps works, it will show your location on a blank screen.

    So, pre-load the maps you need and you won't need a data connection or wifi connection and there will not be any data charges. You will be able to use your gps successfully without data on.
  6. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'm curious about battery life, i use my gps for mushroom hunting, but i also hate to run my battery down while I'm out hunting. If i pre load maps, I'm assuming it would use less battery. But how much less? Anyone have any experience with that?
Search tags for this page
can i use my razr maxx gps in italy
,
can motorola droid razr work in italy
,
can motorola razr be used in europe
,
droid razr gps withiut data
,
droid razr maxx in europe
,
europe travel italy what android gps
,
gps on razr internationaly
,
how do i use gps on razr m
,
international navigation razr
,

international travel droid razr m

,
razr maxx wifi no data in europe
,
use droid razr gps withoutdataconnection
,
using razr droid in europe no data
,
verizon razor maxx does gps use data?
,
will my android gps work in europe