Transparent Status Bar and Shade for Rooted Droid!

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by teenfaces, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. jmccarthy14

    jmccarthy14 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you can replace the notification bar png with a transparent one? The major reason I use home++ is how fantastic a droid screen looks without that big white bar taking up space from its wallpaper. Transparent one with floating text may be a good hybrid, and and I can use GDE (cube + not crashing on pure widgets)?
     
  2. cgunn82

    cgunn82 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I went through the BusyBox instructions but how do you know if its on there or not? Also when I rename the .zip file to .apk it still adds .zip at the end.
     
  3. gardobus

    gardobus Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into Folder Options and turn off "add extension to known file types" or whatever. I'm on a mac right now so I can't tell you the exact wording. I think its in the "tools" menu when your inside any folder in My Computer.
     
  4. cgunn82

    cgunn82 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks that worked. Think I may have figured out the BusyBox.
     
    #28 cgunn82, Dec 11, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  5. jjast73

    jjast73 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    instructions are spot on. worked as expected.

    note: after reboot and signing back into the market place, I notice that I can't install any apps... just says "dowloading........" and nothing. If I stop and restart the download/install, still nothing. I tried this over wifi (which worked prior to change), and also without wifi.

    Hope it will work after another reboot. If not, I'll just undo the changes (good thing I backed up my framework-res.apk (I copied the whole /system/framework dir to my /sdcard =)
     
  6. bots

    bots Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Teenfaces I was just curious how you went about signing that apk, Is it the same way one would sign an apk in android 1.5? Or is there a new method?
     
  7. s2k_848

    s2k_848 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for sharing. I like the transparency!
     
  8. Jerome

    Jerome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what would the insructions be to revert back if needed
     
  9. Manigma77

    Manigma77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would backup the original first before doing this, that is why I have not tried this yet, If someone could please post the instructions for backing up the framework apk it would be greatly appreciated.


    Can someone please post ORIGINAL framework-res.apk
     
    #33 Manigma77, Dec 12, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  10. Flowah

    Flowah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I get to step 8 and it says "operation not permitted" when I try to mount. I've followed the directions to the letter.

    First I upgraded to 2.0.1
    Then I rooted the phone
    Then I tried to busybox.

    Ideas?
     
  11. Manigma77

    Manigma77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is mine, with some red highlights and a more transparent top and bottom bar. Thanx Teenfaces, couldn't have done it without you....

    It's skinning Time!!!! :icon_ banana:
     
  12. JoJoCal19

    JoJoCal19 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice work on the transparent shade. Question though, are you running Sense UI on your Droid? If so can you direct me to the appropriate place to get/do this?
     
Search tags for this page

android transparent status bar

,
badass wallpaper
,
download new status bar for rooted android
,
how to transparrent icon on android cp
,

nikon wallpaper

,
status bar android transparent
,
status bar transparent android
,
transparent status bar
,

transparent status bar android

,
transparent status bar apk